Basic Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I live in Mexico, at 5200 feet above sea level. The sweet rolls here are fairly tasteless and finding this recipe was a godsend! I made two adjustments for the high altitude suggested in the Joy of Cooking. #1 added fake buttermilk (3 Tablespoons of unflavored yogurt to 1 C of milk). I re-measured the 1 Cup of milk but the dough was still too wet. No problem, I just continued adding flour until the dough didn't stick to the bowl. #2 high altitude trick - don't let the dough rise to double it's size; punch the dough down when it has only risen half of it's size, but, let is rise twice before punching it down and rolling out. The brown sugar here is very grainy so I wasn't sure how the cinnamon rolls would turn out but everyone raved about the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Early
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used this to make an apple tart with cream cheese filling. It was easy and tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I had to add a few more cups flour to even form a dough, and the dough was still super sticky. Thanks anways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I used it for some cinammon rolls.... The whole family loved the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefpawnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burdett, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scranton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
a great recipe. i encourage you to try substitues with this recipe as it is so fool proof. thanks for the new bread recipe. my family loves it and so do i. it is at present my weekly bread recipe. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
we loved this dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
very good. i halved this recipe. used butter instead of the shortening and used one packet of instant yeast. after it rose i deflated and rolled it out like you would when youre going to make cinnamon rolls. then spread a layer of cream chease (8oz)that was mixed with 2 T of sugar and 3/4 to 1 tsp of vanilla extract. then on top of that layer i spread some raspberry filling i had made by putting 2 cups frozen raspberries, 2 T lemon juice 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup corn starch in a saucepan and simmer for 15 min. then let cool completely. rolled it up formed into a ring then made cuts with a knife 3/4ths of the way to the inside of the ring. let rise and sprinkle with streusal topping and cook till golden brown at 375. you can do anything with this dough! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family LOVED this bread! I made a half recipe (2 free-form loaves) and one loaf was gone before they where cool. I baked this at 350 for 30 to 45 minutes. I used my baking stone, so the oven had to pre-heat for a hour, so the stone could heat up. It's great plain or with extras, but my favorite is to brush the crust with honey as soon as it gets out of the oven. This bread is also perfect for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miki
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is one of the best sweet doughs I've ever used. I have been looking for a really good sweet dough recipe for years and have finally found the "one". We are eastern European and my grandmother used to make a cake called cocosh. It's basically a sweet yeast dough that is filled with chocolate, rolled and baked in log form. The other more common known version is with poppy seed filling sometimes called mohn roll. This dough was perfect! Baked up light, fluffy and soft. Very simple to make and even easier to work with. Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't wait to try and make a challah with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States