Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I am physically disabled, use a wheelchair, so when simple recipe comes my way I usually try it, this sauce was so freakin yummy! I addeed sausage to spaghetti as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Marie Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Way too spicy for my kids. Probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I liked this recipe and, more to the point, my family did, too. It's a good basic recipe that can be a springboard for more experimentation. Even in its most basic form, I think it needed some added sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I used this sauce for my eggplant parmigiana and it was delicious. Also, because I prefer a sauce with ground meat and mushrooms for my pasta dishes, I have added them to the mix and the results were excellent. Next time, I think I'll add some chopped fennel and Italian sausage. As people's definition of "spicy" varies widely, let me say that for my family (all of whom love spicy foods) the 2 tsp. of red pepper flakes are not too much, but if you're not a fan of heat, you might want to go easy on the red pepper initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Add grated carrots for sweetness.Counters acid tomatoes.Add grated cheese instead of salt,can just grate over when served at table.Oh and make doubled and cook longer.Peppers and mushrooms don't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very nice, tasty and easy recipe. Add a pinch of sugar or even better a tablespoon of ketchup. The kids don't like the Red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Used San Marzano plum tomatoes. Simmered quite a bit longer, while crushing tomatoes with a potato masher (some red wine while simmering is good for both the cook and the gravy). Added some diced red peppers to the onions & garlic. Browned gound beef and ground pork added make a good meat sauce. Top with fresh chopped basil when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cassidy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Surprised to see my go to recipe here that I have been making for years. I use the highest quality crushed tomatoes with added purée that is available, and half the red pepper. A little fresh parsley, a bay leaf and Lowrey's season salt in place of regular salt added is also good. To curb the acidity, try adding 1/8 tsp. baking soda at end of cooking, or a carrot to add a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Great starter recipe! I also use green and yellow peppers for both flavor and color. For the acidic taste I use Basil, not sugar.I do use double the amounts and keep portions in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make a very similar sauce that I keep on hand in the freezer all the time. The only difference is, I use fresh basil in place of the Italian seasoning, add a tablespoon of tomato paste, and always San Marzano tomatoes. I also sauté the red pepper flakes along with the onion and garlic. I have a freezer full of fresh basil chopped and mixed with EVOO and that is what I add at the end. I always only cook it till everything is combined and piping hot, but I never let it get so hot it comes to a boil---we love the fresher taste. I will try some in a crockpot one day, though. I'm sure it will give a completely different, long-cooked flavor! We LOVE this sauce on any kind of pasta dish, with cheese sticks, on sandwiches, eggplant or chicken Parmigiana, etc. Can't go wrong with this one---thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYINTEXAS

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Why for gods sake use canned tomato.. There is something like FRESH vegetables, people... Using cans for me is not cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Allegaert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States