Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Sauce came out great. I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes and we each added them individually because I I was serving to children as well. I added meat, sausage and meatballs. Came out a tad watery, I think due to adding the meat. Next time Ill be straining the crushed tomatoes to keep it from becoming watery. Also instead of preparing on the stovetop, I made it my slow cooker. 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low. Very easy dish to prepare. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I like to add chopped celery and carrot as well as ground sausage. Cook the sausage first then throw in the veggies and follow as usual. I also simmer for much longer (usually about an hour) and the sauce thickens up beautifully, a bit of tomato paste also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wow, great basic recipe, loved this! I make hot italian sausages in the slow cooker, usually just dump a jar of prepared sauce for a quick fix, but was out of sauce. I did have a can of crushed tomatoes, and found this recipe. So glad I did. I did do some doctoring, in addition to the recipe ingredients I added some fine chopped carrot, about 1/2 cup red wine, and a packet of beef boulion in place of salt. I also added some sugar, about two tablespoons, to cut the acidity and sweeten a bit. Delicious. Good-bye jarred sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
It tastes really good if you add another teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I like things spicy. It can also be used for pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
used this when I ran out of spaghetti sauce for a recipe. worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Excellent sauce! Even my "this doesn't have enough flavor" food critic of a husband liked it. I used some of the leftover sauce to make pizza, by adding tomato paste to give the sauce the appropriate texture. Worked great on the pizza, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Too acidic. Add sugar to balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Came home from work tonight in a rush what to make for dinner and came across this recipe in my recipe box. Since I had all the ingredients I thought why not give it a try. My daughter is not a fan of spicy foods so I cut the crushed red pepper in half. I used my "Italian seasoning mix 1" from this site. This turned out quick and had a good flavor. I did let it simmer longer than specified which may have helped to tone down the canned taste from the tomatoes. Will be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added a pinch of sugar, 1 tbsp of tomato paste (for thickness) and a tiny bit of vegetable bullion cube. delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So GOOD! Make more, and freeze it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieLouLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States