Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Maybe my starter is too thick but in order for a dough ball to form in my bread machine I had to add a lot more water than 1/3 cup, maybe as much as an extra cup. The final result is good though. The dough has to be loose and elastic enough for it to rise otherwise one would end up with a door stop brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celia Adamczyk Hoover
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
An amazing recipe. Great flavor and density. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I do have a bread machine but this recipe did not work in it. With bread machines you add all the ingredients at the same time. When making handmade bread, you begin with the wet ingredients and add the dry slowly as needed. I made two loaves. The first one, I added everything at once (thinking it would work in my machine). But once I realized there was too much volume for the container, I took it out to knead it, and there was way too much flour so I had to add more liquid, which is not the way you make bread. It was a hard lump and difficult to knead. I made a second loaf because I had lots of starter, so I did it the proper way and it was a lovely dough by only using about 2 cups of flour. I let it raise til doubled, punched down and let it rest for 15 minutes before making into a loaf with slices across the top. Let it double again and baked at 400 for 35 minutes and brush with butter upon cooling. both loaves turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
i have tried this recipe many times and i love the way the sour taste comes through each time. very simple to make even without the bread machine. I always come here for the tried and true recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used locally stone ground whole wheat flour ( Sonora, soft white, for any of you bread nerds ). It worked just fine, two tablespoons of vital gluten made it fail safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
this bread is so yummy, i will keep making it, i have to add a little extra water but thats no problem, im making some for my friend missy who is coming to see me today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cherie
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I don't have a bread machine and this recipe worked great! Let it double for first rise about 2 hours; shaped and let rise about an hour then baked at 400 for 20 minutes ! Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I have a great starter I got on this site a couple years back and have not really been ecstatic about other recipes/results I have tried. This one was too easy to pass up w/o at least giving it a shot. I read some of the reviews and threw in an extra couple of tablespoons of water (just in case). This rose beautifully and baked to perfection in my machine (which is an older, inherited model). The hardest part of this recipe was carrying up the bread machine from the garage! I may try to remove the dough after prep next time and bake in a pan just for a prettier loaf....but this was a great recipe and I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My kids and i are absolutely in love with it! The outside was crispy crunchy and the inside very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe and easy to follow. I had never made sourdough bread and it turned out really well. I used my machine just to make the dough and then I used my oven so I could shape it the way I wanted it. It was really sticky and gooey but I just added more flour when I was shaping it, but I think most sourdoughs are gooey like that. Wonderful recipe and I will use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States