Basic Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just as the recipe states, great basic sauce combined with quick and easy make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this sauce tonight to go with stuffed shells. After reading the other reviews I added a large onion, lots more garlic and spices and used crushed tomatoes, instead of tomato sauce. Also added 1 can of tomato paste and only half the water to keep it thicker. Pretty good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is the best pasta sauce I've ever had, hands down! I did skip the processed cheese sauce and just added shredded parmesan. Great with or without meat. Can't wait to make it again with my own fresh garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a great starting point. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I made my own using 2 6oz cans of tomato paste. I followed the rest of the recipe like it instructs except for the cheese. I don't like using processed cheese so I went to grab parmesean and was out so I used gargonzola. I just sprinkled a good amount and added garlic salt and used 4 cloves of garlic. It was excellent. My children gobbled it up! Praise to the Lord for helping me on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The only changes I made to this recipe were to add 1 tsp of sugar and I used Italian seasoning in place of oregano. My husband Loved it, which is saying a lot since he grew up eating real Italian food. I didn't cook the onions and garlic prior, just threw everything together and let it simmer a couple hours. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This sauce is a little too thin. To make authentic Italian tomato sauce is very easy. For marinara sauce heat a couple of tbs of olive oil & saute crushed garlic and finely chopped 1/2 onion. Add 1 large can of tomato puree, 1/2 can of water, basil, (additional garlic powder and onion powder, & italian spices if you wish), 1 whole carrot which you will remove before serving(this is to remove the bitter taste of some tomatoes & lessen the need to add sugar). Cook on low for about 1/2 hour. Add grated Romano or Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese to taste, additional salt & pepper and that's it. Very simple. To make a meat sauce, just brown ground beef or meatball mix, pour off the fat and add to the sauce. You don't have to buy jarred sauce which is loaded with sugar and thickeners. If you really need a sweeter sauce you can add some sugar, but I never do. The jar sauce is just too sweet. and I believe the cheese sauce is velveeta or cheese wiz. I use grated italian cheese. Can't imagine using cheese wiz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe but ended up adding some tomato paste at the end since it was far too thin without it. We also found it kind of bland so next time I'll add more garlic and lots more Italian seasonings. I'll also skip the water since I think that helped to make it way too runny. It's a good basic sauce but it needs some additions/modifications to make it more than a 3 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I don't know if this is a fair review of the recipe as written...I started out with intentions of making it by the book, but I didn't have cheese sauce or a reg brown onion. So, I used red onion, left out the cheese sauce and water, added ground beef, garlic salt, and some green can parmesan cheese to smooth it out, and it was goooood. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Good easy base. Thank you for the recipe. Easy to add to. I would definitely add more garlic. I used 2 cloves, still not enough. And I added basil and bay leaf. Very quick and easy. Better the longer it simmers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarensPerspective

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Delicious - especially for a super easy and quick-to-make marinara-type sauce. Great for a weeknight when you don't have a ton of time to cook. I made the recipe exactly as written, except for parmesan cheese instead of cheese sauce. It was so good and great as a topping for a cubed steak parmesan that I made! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States