Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
It's a great starting off point but I made so many changes I don't even know if its even the same recipe. First off I used a tube of crescent rolls for the crust. I used a deep dish pie pan and stretched and squashed the whole sheet around until it sort of resembled a pie crust, up the sides of the pie dish. Poked some holes in it, baked it at 425 for about 15 minutes. Had to keep checking on it and popping the puffed parts up so it would lie flat. I sauteed baby spinach and portabella mushrooms with a half teaspoon of minced garlic in olive oil until the garlic was soft and the spinach wilted - enough to look like it would cover the bottom of the crust. When the crust was done, I used 3 different shredded cheeses, just a thin layer of each, on the bottom of the crust, followed by the mushroom/spinach/garlic layer then added diced ham over that. I added the egg layer using 5 eggs and 1 cup of skim milk, along with the white pepper, garlic salt, omitting the nutmeg. Wisked it all together and poured it over what was in the crust already - I probably had 1/3 to 1/4 cup of the egg mixture left. I added a handful of chives, about a half teaspoon of basil and a little onion powder on the top and threw it in the oven. It took almost 50 minutes until the middle got to where it was set enough that I could take it out of oven using the baking times and temps as above. Now it is cooling/setting; smells great and I can't wait to taste it. 1st quiche I ever made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaghticoke, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband made this! he subbed in the remnants of cheese we had in the fridge, used black pepper b/c we had it and did not have white pepper, omitted nutmeg and added broccoli. It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
added some cooked bacon bits and sauteed onions to the bottom of the pie shell with a swiss and provolone cheese mix. only used 1 cup of half&half. pinch of paprika for seasoning instead of nutmeg (didn't have any lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Coull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Good basic recipe to tweak and add to as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Ok, so I could not sleep tonight so I thought I would make this Quiche for my family to have for breakfast. I have never made Quiche before... It turned out great. I did have to make some different changes since I did not have a pie crust on hand. I decided to use my spring form pan and make a crust like you would for a cheesecake. I used digestive biscuits. I crumbled in food processor with coconut oil, instead of butter, I had none, I used coconut oil and a bit of vanilla extract. I pulsed it till all crumbled. I pressed it down on my spring form pan, and sprinkled asiago cheese all over it. Then the beaten eggs w/cream and chopped up smoked Ham and sprinkled it on top... I cooked it for a little longer than instructed. Delicious!!! Great presentation. I like the hint of sweetness in the crust....will make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Excellent flavor, an go to recipe for basic quiche. Thank you for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a good starter recipe but it calls for way too much cream. And the baking time is WAY off. You must cook it for more like 45 or 50 min and reduce the cream by about 1/4 to 1/2. Add fresh basil, spinach, roasted red peppers, and use fresh mozzarella and parmesan instead of the cheese that is called for. Sprinkle a little parmesan cheese over it just at the end of cooking. Yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillerinbott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was my first time making quiche so this was a great easy recipe. I added crumbled left over meatloaf and frozed soup mix vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great basic recipe! Try subsituting the half/half with sour cream, it is suprisingly delicious! Also, get creative with it. I made mine with browned sausage, fresh diced tomatoes, mushrooms (canned), green pepper, onion, and meunster cheese. I sauteed the green pepper and onions for a few minutes until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I always like to try recipes as written and then tweak it according to feedback. This was the BEST quiche recipe I've ever tried and I'm "known for my quiche." However, it's not terribly slimming, which is a problem, because it's so delicious, I always end up eating more than I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States