Basic Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
They spread out big time, and didn't get the nice brown color and slightly crumbly texture I like in pb cookies, but they sure were easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I agree with LAWCT. It needs more peanut butter and butter. Did not taste peanut buttery enough for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I read two reviews that said with the additions that LAWCT suggested the cookies turned out perfectly. So I gave them a try. The dough looked and tasted as it should for peanut butter cookies but when I put them in the oven they just melted and never cooked up. So I'm not sure what went wrong but i feel it lacked a key component
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I agree with LAWCT's review. Cookies didn't hold together very well. Maybe I will try LAWCT's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
After having bad results with all the varieties of the basic cookie mix, I've altered the recipe for the peanut butter ones, and they turned out really well. I doubled the basic mix (4 cups) used a little over 1/2 cup melted butter, and one cup melted peanut butter, along with 2 eggs, and the reg. amount of vanilla. I rolled them into 2(?) inch balls, moved the oven rack one above the middle position, and reduced the oven temp to 325F. Cooked for about 13-14 mins. The turned out nice and fluffy, and NO burnt edges! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Hey keep up the good work, I loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
This recipe is really QUICK and EASY. I followed LAWCT's procedure to change the recipe a little and the cookies came out real GREAT! This really is the best peanut butter cookie I've ever tasted yet. If u really like peanut butter, u can actually add more. I used one cup of peanut butter (melted) and the flavor came out real good! And remember, mix all the wet ingredients together before mixing in the cookie mix. This make the batter to be mixed more throughly and the taste would eventually comes out better. I also added one teaspoon of milk into the peanut butter before mixing in the cookie mix. I think that makes the peanut butter easier to mix well with the cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I've just started experimenting with the basic cookie mix. These cookies were so easy and came out perfect. I used my hoffritz cookie sheets and reduced the temp to 325. I baked them for 12 minutes. They were crisp and golden. I'll definitely make them again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Thank I really enjoy these recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
I liked this recipe, it has a very good taste. The dough was a little dry at first, but after starting to roll it, it became softer and stuck together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States