Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
didnt taste the end result. it took FOREVER to make! the dough was so difficult to stretch out and to knead!!!! i havent tasted it yet but modified the amound of flour and water so many times that it is no longer possible for me to say whether it tasted good or not. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very tasty, will definitely make again and again. I'm excited to try out other flavors, particularly whole wheat pasta, since that's about all we ever eat. My only problems were that this dough was VERY hard to roll extremely thin, which is needed for ravioli. Yes, I let it rest, and it definitely helped, but it was still very difficult. Whole wheat would make this even harder. (Um, hubby... can I have a pasta roller?) The only other thing is that this is a teeny recipe. I doubled it originally and cannot POSSIBLY see how a double recipe would feed six. I rolled as thin as possible by hand and got maybe 12-15 large ravioli out of a double recipe. I had to mix up another double (and I should have tripled it!) batch quickly to use up the rest of my ravioli filling. Perhaps as spaghetti or some other shape this stretches farther, but as ravioli I would probably quadruple or even quintuple the batch from the get-go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Super easy and rolls out very well through the pasta machine. I doubled the recipe and got at least 32 (2-2.5 in) ravioli's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
A great basic pasta recipe. If you're making fresh pasta for the first time, USE THIS RECIPE. Like previous reviewers noted, letting the dough rest is so helpful. Wrap it in plastic or cover it with a towel and give it a few hours (or a day or more) and it is so much easier to work with. If it tears apart or is too stiff to roll, add a couple of tablespoons of water and let it rest some more. The flavor is perfect. Add or reduce salt as desired. Personally, I prefer to leave the salt out and just liberally salt the water. I have used this recipe for thick noodles, thin spaghetti, and lasagna. I've worked it both by hand and with a mixer with fine results. I've rolled and cut it both by hand and with a pasta machine and both were fine. It's really ideal and foolproof. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Thanks for this simple yet delicious recipe. The recipe amount was perfect for our family of three. I let the dough rest for 20 minutes as others suggested, and cut into thin strips after rolling out. I think I will invest in a pasta roller! Also, make sure to let the pasta dry for 15-20 minutes - hanging if you can. When you boil it, add a bit of oil to the water to prevent boiling over, as fresh pasta is more likely to do this. For spaghetti size pasta, boil for 5 minutes for al dente. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flunkiejunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super easy to make! A bit time consuming but delicious with the alfredo sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This made great dough for making ravioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great recipe for a beginner like me! I made a few changes previously suggested. I used a 1/2 tsp of garlic salt (instead of salt), 1/2 tsp of basil, 1 T olive oil, and 1 T of water. Tossed with a creamy lemon butter sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed these noodles. I doubled the recipe and added 1 tsp olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was so easy to make! It tastes so good too! I highly recommend using some kind of machine (bread maker on the dough cycle) to knead the pasta dough. I added garlic salt to mine to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States