Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Wow! So easy! I had made pasta all the time before and w a similar recipe, but these proportions make the dough elastic and smooth and very easy to work with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonder Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlaBlaNoodle
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great easy pasta dough. Started in my kitchen aid stand mixer (add flour mixture to the bowl first then egg to keep from sticking to the bowl), and kneaded on the counter halfway through. I did 4 times the recipe and was no problem at all. Not recommended in the stand mixer unless you double/triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It tastes really good, I also put in a pinch of salt in the water I boiled the pasta in and I think that made it taste better. I also put in about a tablespoon of olive oil in the pasta. I let it rest for about 45 minutes, and it was not hard at all to roll out, but since I'm not very experienced with making pasta, it was hard getting it to the perfect thickness. I think a millimeter or so is a good thickness; mine were a bit too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Amazing and very easy. Next time I will reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This dough was very easy to work with - not sticky at all. I needed to add all of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I double the recipe; but there still doesn't seem to be quite enough water. Close though. I add about 1 tbsp of olive oil and use the 'dough' setting on my bread maker so it does all the hard work. I let it rest for a few hours and have made ravioli, lasagna noodles and fettucine noodles; all by hand and a rolling pin. Easiest to use a pizza cutter (wheel). Great light pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was another first time pasta maker and this one came out great. My daughter and I made it into cheese and pepperoni ravioli and a small batch of strip noodles. It was cooked about 4-5 minutes although I think a minute or two longer might have been better for my taste; my son thought it was perfectly firm and chewy. I used about 1/2 Tbsp of canola oil (that's all that I had on hand) in addition to the stated ingredients. The dough was mixed in my Kitchenaid (with the flat beater) but kneading was done by hand for about 4 minutes. I expected it to become totally smooth but mine didn't seem to get as smooth as I expected. The recipe was doubled and wrapped loosely in plastic wrap to rest for about 25 minutes. I agree that a REST IS IMPORTANT! If I had tried to roll it out as soon as I was done kneading, I doubt I would have tried making this again as it was not very elastic. After the rest, it was AWESOME and beautifully smooth and easy to work with. I didn't use too much flour, started rolling with a fondant roller and ended with a wooden rolling pin because it was bigger/wider. I will definitely be looking to invest in a pasta attachment for the KA mixer. We WILL be making this again for sure, perhaps adding some herbs and perhaps trying out a whole wheat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is so easy and delicious!!! Thanks a bunch for the recipe. I had never considered actually making pasta from scratch before I read this recipe, now I may never go back to store-bought! I followed the directions exactly except that I forgot to add the salt. I'll be sure to remember it next time, but it tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very easy! I do not have the proper machinery to thin out dough and cut... I have a kitchen-aide mixer so the dough was a success, I rolled and cut thin noodles with a large pizza cutter. It was easy breezy. Think I will go ahead and invest in the pasta hook up for my mixer. All of the needed equipment was why it got a 4, but the noodles were beautiful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRUNYAN1

Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States