Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is great! I needed a bit more water and let it rest on the counter for about an hour while I folded laundry. I rolled it with my pasta roller and it had beautiful stretch to it, which allowed it to get super thin. I used it in a lasagna and it baked up quickly --about 25-30 minutes, but the pasta itself was probably cooked after about 5 minutes in the oven. The noodles didn't overcook or get mushy, though, so it all turned out very well. With the additional water (closer to 4tbsp) I really liked this recipe. I also added about a teaspoon of vegetable oil which I think helped keep it from sticking to my roller. :) All in all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The measurements of this recipe are foolproof and the steps given are the same I have learned through my chef. I used 2 eggs,2C of flour(chefs and bakers AP),1 tsp salt,and 3-4 tbs water to make fettuccine noodles for a soup . Dough was so easy to work with that I even tossed the dough like a pizza after rolling it out and had no tears. * Let dough rest a room temperature before rolling for flexibility. Also roll thin or face ridiculously thick noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Great, tasty and easy! Doubled the recipe but only used 3/4 tsp salt and added a tbsp of olive oil. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I just made some for my Fam, and it was gone almost as soon as it was made! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
At first I couldn't get the right texture when I rolled it. Someone suggested letting the dough rest for 20 minutes, and it turned out perfect. I didn't add any water as it seemed to make the dough sticky and not easy to roll out. I used a pasta roller to roll and cut fetuccini. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My husband and I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and this was by far the easiest fresh pasta I've ever made! I made pumpkin ricotta ravioli and look forward to lots of fresh pasta in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pidkar
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I just made this and it was very good! I attempted to double the recipe, but I accidentally forgot to double the flour. So I ended up doubling the salt and eggs, but still used only one cup of flour. I also left out the water and just used a tbsp of oil instead. After I kneaded the dough, I let it sit for about 15 minutes. It probably could have used longer, but I was in a bit of a rush.. Despite my mistake and impatience, it was very good and easy to work with. I've never been able to successfully make fresh pasta by hand, but with this recipe it isn't necessary to use a pasta maker. I imagine it'd be easier and faster, but you can do it by hand. When rolling it out, I'd divide the dough either into three or four portions. Since I have a smaller kitchen counter, this made it easier for me to roll it out and cut it. Before cutting the pasta, make sure both sides of it are dusted with flour to prevent them sticking together before hitting the water. To cut it, I used a pizza cutter. When it comes to cooking it, I was pretty unsure of how long to cook it at first. I've seen multiple reviews saying 4 minutes or 12 minutes. Honestly, for fettuccine sized pasta you'll only need about 4 or 5 minutes. Just boil a pot of water enough to cover it, salt it, and carefully place the pasta into the water. Make sure to watch after it and stir it. It was bubbling quite a bit while cooking. If I walked off it probably would've boiled over so just make sure to watch out for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I used a little more water to get this to come together - I also used half oat flour which might have made the need for more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Doubled for family of 4 - added 2 tbsp olive oil. First time using my pasta press. So easy & delicious. Totally worth the effort! Made fettuccine and made Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce earlier in the day to go on top so I could focus on the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States