Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Excellent pasta! Definitely going to need a machine next time! (I like my pasta thinner which is difficult when rolling it out by hand) I used 1 tbsp extra water at it was a little too dry. But quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Lost my pasta recipe that I used for years and, voila, I found this one. It's so much better than my old one; no additional flour needed to roll. I used my pasta machine and you really don't want your dough to be the least bit sticky. Not so with this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to let it rest for 20 minutes; please do it, you will be glad you did. Thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was my first attempt at making homemade pasta, so I wanted an easy recipe. I followed it with no changes, but the dough was so dry I couldn't even get all the flour to mix in. So I added the water, and it was still too dry. I added 2 tbs EVOO (I misread the other comments where they said they added 1/2 tbs), but it turned out fine, and it all held together well. I don't have a pasta machine so I rolled it out by hand. As a result, it was kind of thick, but I cut it into strips and cooked it. The end result was OK. A little too salty for me, which made me think of the old salt dough we used to make Christmas ornaments out of as kids. And because of the thickness, some of the pieces were not fully cooked in the middle but the outsides were starting to get slimy. If I try this one again, I'll cut the salt in half, and add less EVOO to see if that changes the flavor. I can always add more if needed. Other recipes I've seen have a higher egg-to-flour ratio so I might try one of those next time. When I do make pasta again, I'll try and roll it out more evenly so it cooks more evenly. But for a first attempt, I'm not too disappointed with how it came out, and I'm encouraged to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Errington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
i Used 2 cups of flour to 3 eggs, 1 tsp salt and1 TB olive oil - tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tastes pretty good. I also added some evoo. But it was diffucult to make it thin with a roller
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly adding 2 T of water to the beaten egg. I have made pasta so many times and I've always added a little water and olive oil. No oil this time. I have the Atlas machine with a motor attachment and it is wonderful. I bought the motor about one year ago and it's like having a 3rd hand. It's not cheap but it is well worth the price. Always allow the dough to rest in the fridge for at least minutes. I will cut the sheets into angel hair and it will be delicious. It always is. Olive oil, garlic a little chopped parsley and a light sprinkle of Italian seasoning. No cheese needed for this baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This morning I was so excited to try this recipe! I was disappointed in the beginning though, due to the fact that it was very dry and crumbly. If I were a "newby" in the kitchen, I would have panicked LoL. However, cooking all my life kept me calm! I just added an extra egg and a drizzle of olive oil. So far so good! Felt great after kneading, firm and elastic like it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My husband and I made the recipe just as written. We were wanting to taste his mother's homemade past again. She passed away 10 years ago and we haven't made it until now. We had some trouble with the egg escaping the "volcano" and we didn't have the proper clamp for the pasta machine. But we got thru it! It tasted a lot like hers and was absolutely delish! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrmntn
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
made this into cheese raviolis with my homemade spicy marinara! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmntn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Today was the first time that my pasta maker had a handle so I was super excited to try pasta for the first time. I ended up using almost exactly the water recommended, and it was SO easy and straightforward. I don't think I've ever enjoyed spaghetti so much in my life, I can't wait to try flavors and other pasta types, how exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Baum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States