Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Today was the first time that my pasta maker had a handle so I was super excited to try pasta for the first time. I ended up using almost exactly the water recommended, and it was SO easy and straightforward. I don't think I've ever enjoyed spaghetti so much in my life, I can't wait to try flavors and other pasta types, how exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Baum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I had lost my basic dough recipe so used this for perogies the other night. I also had to add more water not a surpise flour has been very dry lately. Next time i will definitely start with a tablespoon of olive oil and add water as needed to make dough. But it rolled out well with padta roller and sealed well around filling overall I was pleased with end result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Made 2times, the first time was perfect, the second was over cooked. Next time I will be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sorry to be the downer on here, but I just don't think it's worth all the effort involved. Sure the noodles were nice, but it took a good portion of my day, and nearly all counter space to make them. I also let them dry for 3 hours like many recipes suggest. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a lazy chef. My kids never ate baby food from a jar and I almost never buy something packaged, if I can easily do it myself, like bread. But this is too much work. Maybe it's because I am more of a sauce person. The noodles are just a way to transport sauce. And considering I can buy organic egg noodles and dump them in boiling water on the spurr of the moment, I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshlne
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I doubled the recipe, added the olive oil as suggested - 1 tbls, and reduced flour by about 1/2 cup. Started in food processor and then kneaded for about 3 minutes. Wrapped in plastic wrap and let rest for 30 min, then used pasta roller. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Quick and super easy! I followed the suggestions and added a bit of olive oil. Letting it rest was the key. I've made pasta before, but it wasn't this easy...or raved about as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedcup

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have made pasta noodles in the past with a similar recipe, they came out ok. This time I followed the advice of others and added 2tbs of olive oil and let the dough rest for about 30 minutes before rolling it out. They came out great! This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This worked out great for us, the secret is definitely letting the dough rest. My son helped make them for his 1st anniversary with his GF. We used the Kitchenaid to mix the dough, and the pasta attachments to roll and then cut into fettuccine noodles. What a special dinner. Thanks for this perfect pasta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was really good. I doubled the recipe and I used a pasta maker. You have to be very patient with the dough, it has to be stiff. As recommended by other I let it sit for about 1 hour before running it through the pasta maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States