Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Came out a little soupy, even though I actually increased cooking time. BUT I will make again - very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This was my first try at Risotto and I was a little intimidated by the stove-top version listed on the box. I was surprised and pleased at how well this turned out in the microwave. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
this was so easy to make and the whole family loved it. we added a few vegetables and some chicken and had a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This recipe is a great basis for your creativity! I've made it twice, adding different vegtables each time. Try a colorful selection of corn, broccoli, peas and/or tomatoes. One note: having a rather anemic microwave, I had to add some cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This recipe did exactly what it was supposed to do. Everyone in my family enjoyed it (even the kids!) I made it just as the recipe indicated and now that I have success I will try different variations as suggested for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This turned out great! I added sauteed mushrooms and more onion along with some worcestshire sauce at the end. We loved it and will make it again! Next time I'll use all broth instead of the wine though, we didn't like the taste as much-- but it could have been the kind of wine that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I was very skeptical when I saw this recipe. But it really surprised me - the flavor was really good and the rice actually cooked up well (I assumed it would be really crunchy). However, this didn't turn out as creamy as old fashioned risotto. I left the lid on for the last 10 minutes - not sure if that made a difference. The recipe didn't specify what to do. It is definitely a good way to easily make risotto, just don't expect it to taste exactly like it does with the regular method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I was pleasantly surprised by this. I was a little skeptical of risotto made in the microwave, but it was actually really good. I used an entire small onion and about 3 cloves of garlic. I also used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. My husband and I both really enjoyed this. I plan on making it often. The ingredients are things that I usually have around the house. It would be great with some other ingredients tossed in there too. It's definitely a good basic recipe, and it's incredibly simple to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I have never cooked Risotto before and admit, I was a bit intimidated. This recipe was so-o-o easy and it tastes delicious! I will definitely serve it again and try adding a few vegetables. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
AWESOME and EASY!! I added a pinch of salt and some peas - very tasty! Next time I'm going to add in some fresh basil - this is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States