Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I wanted to make this as-in and give it a fair rating, because I recently had risotto for the first time. It was at a cooking demonstration given by professional chefs and it was amazing. I bought the Arborio rice and had plans to make it today. However things didn't go as planned so I need a quick cooking method. I thought it was very good. Not as soft and creamy as I remember the other stuff but it had a bite to it that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is the answer to our old fashioned risotto! I added some almond to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Made this for first time today (10-27-12). Sauteed onion, garlic (2 large cloves) and 8oz thinly sliced mushroom caps in butter. Heated the broth (I used chicken because I had an open container), added the vegetables and rice to the broth and followed the directions from that point on, adding the wine and cheese. It was easy (without all the incessant stirring) and my husband and I thought it was delicious. It was a side to broiled teriyaki salmon and Brussel sprouts. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is FABULOUS! I typically stir halfway through each cooking time and add a little more liquid, but it's so easy to be versatile with this! My family loves it, and it's a great alternative to tradtional risotto, with very similar results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe sure had the "WOW" factor at a pot luck tonight! Friends were very impressed how well my first Risotto turned out. Then I told them it took less than 30 minutes to do in the microwave and they just couldn't believe it. I followed the recipe just about to the letter. Main difference, I precooked the onions and garlic for about 5-6 minutes. Then followed the recipe. I used chicken broth to for the little extra flavor. About 2 minute before the timer went off, I opened the lid to check the rice, felt it could be a bit moister, so I dumped the other 1/4 to 1/3 cup of left over chicken stock in and went about 3 more minutes. I think next time, I'll add some heavy cream to see what that does for the overall texture. All in all, this is a great keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I have to say... I was so scared to try this but I really wanted some Risotto and having a bad arm, the traditional way is not something I can do without hurting myself... So, I tried it!!! OMG!!! My family and I were shocked at how good it is!! I will be making this often... I didn't have to really modify anything since I only wanted a basic Risotto (my 13 yo won't eat a bunch of things)... the only thing I did a little different was to use extra broth in place of wine, just a 'splash' of cream at the end, and add more cheese (only cuz my family are cheese freaks. AWESOME.... THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is unbelievably good & super easy. I've made it 4 times now & it has turned out perfectly each time even though I've added different things every time I've made it. The main change I made is to use low sodium chicken broth in place of vegetable broth & I've used either water or wine depending what I've had on hand. Once I added a jar of olive tampanade, another time I added sauteed mushrooms & tonight I added sauteed mushrooms & spinach. It is so versatile. Dare to be creative & add what you like. I would even make it for company - it is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Tasty and easy...used can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Oh my goodness. This is a comfort food dish. I have only had risotto one other time, and I made it from a recipe that required the stirring over the stove method. This was so much better - admittedly, I have never had "real" risotto. I followed the advice of others and sauteed my veggies, and added at the end. I served this with a "raw" kale salad, and it was great. I also found it to be very "forgiving" in that frequent checking did not destroy the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montystacy93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States