Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow!!! What a surprise! I've been making risotto for years and it is always time consuming, (which I don't mind.) and hit or miss with the consistency. This recipe was great. I added a little more garlic because we love it and I added carmelized onions when it finished cooking. When I removed the cover after the last 10 min, I thought it was too watery. But, when I added the cheese and let it sit with the lid on it was perfect. My husband loved it. I didn't tell him it was from the microwave, he's a purest. I can not wait to try it with other additions and double the amount. For time and taste, it gets my first 5 stars. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was wonderful, and it was so easy to make. I didn't have any arborio rice so I ended up using basmati rice, I wasn't sure how it would be, but it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was delicious. I just used water in place of wine, chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. I thought was a very easy side dish. Better than standing over the stove for 30 min. straight like other risottos. It was a little too watery after the cooking times allowed, so I microwaved it for a minute more then stirred an extra 1/4 cup of parmesean cheese in to thicken it up. It worked well. Nice recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I have never been able to get risotto right on the stove...okay I am not that good a cook I guess...this, however worked great. The only problem I had was step 4 - It did not say to replace the cover after adding the wine, so I assumed that since the liquid was supposed to "boil off," I should leave the lid off. I think I lost too much liquid that way. I even stopped the cooking at 9 minutes. Next time I will replace the lid for the last 10 minutes and see what happens. I can't wait to try some alternative liquids, as I am not all that crazy about wine - got me again...I am completely unrefined. The weird thing is that my wife, who hates the very thought of wine loved this recipe. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Good basic risotto - very easy to make - would try again and experiment with add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
It was really tasty. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent dish! I used 2 garlic cloves, chicken broth, and added mushrooms. I caramelized the onions instead of cooking them in the microwave. I added them and my sauteed mushrooms in the last minute of cooking. This got rave reviews from my husband. Next time I might try other veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe to a "T", except used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. It came out tasting great with a PERFECT texture. Next time I will use less onion (I'm not a huge onion fan) and add mushrooms. This was soooo much easier then standing over the stove forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great Stuff and so easy. It is so nice you can walk away and do soethong else while its cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amysaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I used beef broth and red wine. It was delicious. I had to cook a few minutes longer, but it would have probably thickened on its own had I left it sit. Will prepare again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States