Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I can hardly believe how good this came out in the microwave! Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I've had this in my recipe box for 2 years!! I finally tried it for a lunch with some leftover arborio in the cupboard. I didn't have wine, so I just used extra broth. I followed the microwaving directions exactly and came out with a FANTASTIC risotto. I must say I was skeptical, but it was very good. The fresh parmesan is absolutely necessary....don't use any of that fake shake stuff. I'm going to try it again with some asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp and make a lenten dinner out of it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Normally I make traitional risotto from scratch, but this was so easy to make on a snowy night when I couldn't leave the house! Definitely making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I changed the recipe just a little bit. I made it with only vegetable broth and no wine(just a tiny dash of apple cider vinager). I also subtracted maybe 1/4 of a cup of liquid. I cooked it for 10 minutes longer ,and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I have made this twice now and really like it a lot. My husband didn't like it the first time so I made a few changes and he really likes it now. I used 2 1/4 c. of broth and 2-3 Tbsp of wine - just enough to taste. I also cook it for a lot longer than the recipe states. I followed the directions the first time and it was just too hard still, so I go about 10 more minutes in the microwave. This recipe has great flavor, and the best part is that you don't have to stand in front of the stove stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I'm sorry, but we didn't like this recipe. I have a delicious risotto receipe made with Vidalia onions and feta cheese stirred in at the end that I recreated using this recipe and the microwave. I basically followed the recipe except used broth instead of the wine because the kids were going to eat it and I wasn't sure how much of the alcohol would cook off in the microwave. Anyway, even with extra stirring, this risotto wasn't half as creamy as doing it on the stovetop. My family didn't enjoy it much and the leftovers ended up getting thrown away. We won't be making it in the microwave again. Oh well, it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow!!! What a surprise! I've been making risotto for years and it is always time consuming, (which I don't mind.) and hit or miss with the consistency. This recipe was great. I added a little more garlic because we love it and I added carmelized onions when it finished cooking. When I removed the cover after the last 10 min, I thought it was too watery. But, when I added the cheese and let it sit with the lid on it was perfect. My husband loved it. I didn't tell him it was from the microwave, he's a purest. I can not wait to try it with other additions and double the amount. For time and taste, it gets my first 5 stars. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was wonderful, and it was so easy to make. I didn't have any arborio rice so I ended up using basmati rice, I wasn't sure how it would be, but it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was delicious. I just used water in place of wine, chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. I thought was a very easy side dish. Better than standing over the stove for 30 min. straight like other risottos. It was a little too watery after the cooking times allowed, so I microwaved it for a minute more then stirred an extra 1/4 cup of parmesean cheese in to thicken it up. It worked well. Nice recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I have never been able to get risotto right on the stove...okay I am not that good a cook I guess...this, however worked great. The only problem I had was step 4 - It did not say to replace the cover after adding the wine, so I assumed that since the liquid was supposed to "boil off," I should leave the lid off. I think I lost too much liquid that way. I even stopped the cooking at 9 minutes. Next time I will replace the lid for the last 10 minutes and see what happens. I can't wait to try some alternative liquids, as I am not all that crazy about wine - got me again...I am completely unrefined. The weird thing is that my wife, who hates the very thought of wine loved this recipe. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States