Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
So easy and so good! I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. My teenage son was actually disappointed that there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Sooo easy and quite tasty. I love risotto, but struggle with more complicated recipes. While this isn't quite the same as those fancy shmancy risottos, it's good enough for me! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had a microwave risotto recipe from years ago that I couldnt find so I kind of merged the 2, based on what I could remember from the first. The results were very good (which leads me to believe that this recipe is very forgiving...this is why I dont bake!) I used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil, its healthier. I melted the butter then added the onions and cooked them for 1 minute. I then added some mushrooms and garlic and cooked for a minute more. Then added rice , stirred and cooked for 2 mins,then I did the wine (like you would with classic risotto). I never covered the dish and used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth in stead of the 1 1/2 veg. Probably nuked it with broth for about 20-30 minutes? Was very yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was much easier than a traditional risotto. I did make some minor improvements to suit our tastes. I added more broth and cooked slightly longer than suggested bc we like the rice softer. I also stirred in a lrg splash of cream to the finished product to make it creamier. I will make this againa and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Took longer to cook when I tripled the recipe. Used Maggi chicken/tomato bullion cubes to augment the broth to the correct amount. Also used lemonade to augment the wine I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
We've been known to sub the white wine with whatever is in the fridge. Pink lemonade is really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I love this!!! Made it while we were camping and it turned out perfect. I add a couple more cloves of garlic and fresh mushrooms with the onions and also 1/2 cup of parm cheese. It is amazing how good this turns out..thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I thought this recipe as is was really bland. All I could taste was wine. Might try again with this as a base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyLLaNe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Like everyone has said, this isn't real risotto. But whatever it is, it's delicious! The only thing I added to the recipe was salt & pepper and a bit of heavy cream at the end like another reviewer suggested. This recipe is super easy and very flavorful. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very easy to make. Great base for adding other ingredients. I'll try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States