Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
We've been known to sub the white wine with whatever is in the fridge. Pink lemonade is really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I love this!!! Made it while we were camping and it turned out perfect. I add a couple more cloves of garlic and fresh mushrooms with the onions and also 1/2 cup of parm cheese. It is amazing how good this turns out..thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I thought this recipe as is was really bland. All I could taste was wine. Might try again with this as a base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyLLaNe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Like everyone has said, this isn't real risotto. But whatever it is, it's delicious! The only thing I added to the recipe was salt & pepper and a bit of heavy cream at the end like another reviewer suggested. This recipe is super easy and very flavorful. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very easy to make. Great base for adding other ingredients. I'll try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I love risotto, but don't always have the time to prepare it the authentic way...I was a little sceptical using the microwave because I am not a fan of preparing food in it, but let me tell you, I was seriously impressed! I turned out wonderful! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. It lends itself nicely to experimentation, always with great results. I've made this several times now exactly as written and completely changed up and its delicious every time. I've found that if you don't have arborio rice on hand, you can easily substitute any other long grain white rice. I prefer jasmine rice since I can buy it in bulk and its less expensive than arborio in my area. I also have found that I prefer to use half an onion, two garlic cloves, and whatever vegetables I can find in my fridge/garden. If the veggies need to be cooked, I stop the microwave with five minutes to go and toss in the chopped veggies. I also like to shred some cooked chicken and toss that in when I put in the cheese. Risotto purists may not be impressed with this recipe because it's not exactly like traditional risotto. But its pretty darn close, and easier to make when you're pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
OK 5 stars for how snappy and quick this is to make. For me I wanted to carmalize my onions for a bit so I skipped cooking them in the microwave and added the butter into a skillet and cooked for 5 minutes or so with the garlic. Heated the broth as stated (which I only had chicken on hand that had roasted veg seasoning flavor in it-tasted fab)..then added all the above to the microwave safe dish and tossed in my fav spices since a few reviewers mentioned the blandness (salt, pepper, paprika, dash sugar, and parsley)I think any recipe has room to add in your favorite spices..so that's what I did. I also used pinot grigio for my wine. Will make again and again. Next time I will toss in my garden squashes and zucchinis after I saute them a bit. Now that sounds good. Don't pass this up..it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My whole family loved this recipe! Everyone went back for seconds! I didn't have the white wine, so I just added more broth and water. I also added thinly sliced portabella mushrooms. This is already a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have to say, I was pretty surprised at how well this risotto came out! I love risotto and usually do the long routine of stirring and adding liquid...what a nice switch for a night where I didn't have the energy! I followed another review and added a dash of fat free half & half at the end, yummy. I also added sliced baby portabella mushrooms with the onions/garlic. The timing for the microwave was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States