Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I eat this all the time - with a few tweaks. I use regular rice since it's much cheaper, chicken broth since I always have it on hand (also - there's no need for two bowls - just heat up the broth with the onions, and about a tablespoon or less of butter to cut back on the fat. If it's watery - as others have mentioned - just keep cooking it until you get "pits" on the top. (I usually cook it for 11 minutes after adding the wine.) And don't forget salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is soooo good. I served it with marinated meatballs from the crock pot and a fresh green salad. I added a bit extra white wine and extra parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
honestly I think that the Risotto that you stir and stir on the stove is a little better, but only when you have perfected the heat and stirring combo. This is almost as good and for the next to no attention that it needs, five solid stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Striffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is very good and easy. I've made this before the old fashioned way and you can't tell the difference. Made it with both red and white wine and it's great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I can hardly believe how good this came out in the microwave! Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I've had this in my recipe box for 2 years!! I finally tried it for a lunch with some leftover arborio in the cupboard. I didn't have wine, so I just used extra broth. I followed the microwaving directions exactly and came out with a FANTASTIC risotto. I must say I was skeptical, but it was very good. The fresh parmesan is absolutely necessary....don't use any of that fake shake stuff. I'm going to try it again with some asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp and make a lenten dinner out of it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Normally I make traitional risotto from scratch, but this was so easy to make on a snowy night when I couldn't leave the house! Definitely making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I changed the recipe just a little bit. I made it with only vegetable broth and no wine(just a tiny dash of apple cider vinager). I also subtracted maybe 1/4 of a cup of liquid. I cooked it for 10 minutes longer ,and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I have made this twice now and really like it a lot. My husband didn't like it the first time so I made a few changes and he really likes it now. I used 2 1/4 c. of broth and 2-3 Tbsp of wine - just enough to taste. I also cook it for a lot longer than the recipe states. I followed the directions the first time and it was just too hard still, so I go about 10 more minutes in the microwave. This recipe has great flavor, and the best part is that you don't have to stand in front of the stove stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I'm sorry, but we didn't like this recipe. I have a delicious risotto receipe made with Vidalia onions and feta cheese stirred in at the end that I recreated using this recipe and the microwave. I basically followed the recipe except used broth instead of the wine because the kids were going to eat it and I wasn't sure how much of the alcohol would cook off in the microwave. Anyway, even with extra stirring, this risotto wasn't half as creamy as doing it on the stovetop. My family didn't enjoy it much and the leftovers ended up getting thrown away. We won't be making it in the microwave again. Oh well, it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States