Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Simply delicious and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very easy and very good. I added some lemon pepper and some Mrs. Dash just to enhance the flavor. I also omitted the wine (I was out) and added a bit of brown rice since I was about four Tbl's short of a full cup which then required a bit more liquid and a little longer cooking time but the kids raved about this rice. A keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was too easy! Nice recipe. I needed something that I could make with whatever I had in my pantry. I used red wine because I was out of white. It came out sooooo tasty. Of course, it's not the same as the real deal, but it's great for everyday dinners. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I can't believe I hadn't rated this before.... we have made it so often ! I have not made traditional risotto before, but after trying this, I don't think I need to....the flavor of this is so good and it always comes out just right. We add sauteed mushrooms and freshly grated pecorino romano cheese to it, yum !!! Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I know what you're thinking, no way this recipe works. I thought the same thing. OK, it's not perfect risotto, but it's close and so wonderfully simple. Add this to your list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I'm a huge fan of Microwave risotto. Having experimented over time, I now add a dash of light cream at the end and stir it through and this makes a big difference and brings it closer to a traditionally made risotto. I vary the recipe depending on what I have in the fridge and often add semi-dried tomato, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, onion, baby spinach, a can of chopped tomatoes (including the liquid), cheese or chicken. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Thank the stars above for this amazing and quick risotto!! I used apple juice instead of the wine and it was fabulous! It does leave a strong taste so if you're not too keen on the AJ or wine, reduce the amount a little. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well, who would have expected that? It's not quite so creamy as the old-fashioned loooooong cooked risotto, but it really does capture the essence of it. Big hit in our family, though I have to say, I used bouillion instead of broth, and it was too salty. I wouldn't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Nothing beats real "stirred" risotto, but this was a fairly good substitute. I liked the fact that I could do other things while it was cooking. It just didn't have that same creaminess that risotto should have. I added a small can of mushrooms (with the water) and subsituted chicken broth for the veggie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Unbelievable! This is a superb, restaurant quality dish. I followed alot of the reviewers recommendations~~>I added a shallots and mushrooms that I browned in butter at the point where I added the white wine. I also used chicken stock (Emeril's brand that they sell in the supermarket). The result was delicious, creamy. I really couldn't stop eating this! I can't wait to make it again. One reviewer said she served this with chicken marsala so I think I will try that next time! Thank you for a fabulous 10 STAR recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States