Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This recipe did exactly what it was supposed to do. Everyone in my family enjoyed it (even the kids!) I made it just as the recipe indicated and now that I have success I will try different variations as suggested for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I was pleasantly surprised by this. I was a little skeptical of risotto made in the microwave, but it was actually really good. I used an entire small onion and about 3 cloves of garlic. I also used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. My husband and I both really enjoyed this. I plan on making it often. The ingredients are things that I usually have around the house. It would be great with some other ingredients tossed in there too. It's definitely a good basic recipe, and it's incredibly simple to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This was my first try at Risotto and I was a little intimidated by the stove-top version listed on the box. I was surprised and pleased at how well this turned out in the microwave. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
this was so easy to make and the whole family loved it. we added a few vegetables and some chicken and had a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This recipe is a great basis for your creativity! I've made it twice, adding different vegtables each time. Try a colorful selection of corn, broccoli, peas and/or tomatoes. One note: having a rather anemic microwave, I had to add some cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I have never cooked Risotto before and admit, I was a bit intimidated. This recipe was so-o-o easy and it tastes delicious! I will definitely serve it again and try adding a few vegetables. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
AWESOME and EASY!! I added a pinch of salt and some peas - very tasty! Next time I'm going to add in some fresh basil - this is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
OK so it isn't as good as the risotto you spend 45 minutes stirring on the stove. But for the amount of effort, it really is excellent. For the record, I forgot to heat the chicken broth once, but I added extra liquid and cooked it longer, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
LOVE THIS! I too hate to slave over the stove making risotto the traditional way, so I jumped on this recipe and it was DElicious! I made some revisions and it came out yummy, my husband just devoured it! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, caramelized onions (already had) instead of raw onions, and added more parmesan than it asked for. Most importantly though, I sauteed some crimini mushrooms with butter and wine and added it at the end with the wine. Amazing! I too kept the lid on, don't know if I was suppose to do that. This is a GREAT recipe base! I plan to make it again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Excellent! Creamy and tasty! I added sauteed (done in garlic, butter and white wine) mushrooms at the end! If you like risotto this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States