Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I'm a huge fan of Microwave risotto. Having experimented over time, I now add a dash of light cream at the end and stir it through and this makes a big difference and brings it closer to a traditionally made risotto. I vary the recipe depending on what I have in the fridge and often add semi-dried tomato, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, onion, baby spinach, a can of chopped tomatoes (including the liquid), cheese or chicken. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was an extremely easy recipe to make and everybody who tasted it thought that it was delish. I added sauteed mushrooms and, as one of the other reviewers suggested, caramelized the onions and added them in the last few minutes of cooking instead of throwing them in raw with the rice. I did have to cook the rice an extra five minutes in order to cook the rice through. I would also suggest checking up on the rice and mixing it halfway through both times of cooking. If the rice appears a little dry just add more water or wine. Sauteed mushrooms in wine and butter seasoned with salt and pepper are a great touch. *I kept the lid on though not very tightly just to cover up but still letting the steam from cooking come through* Overall, a delicious meal to prepare in little time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Almost a 5 star, super good but not as good as the real stuff. I will make this again many times just because it is so simple. Also, making risotto in the summer time is painful at best, so this will definitely be good for summer (no standing over a hot stove for an hour) One warning, DO NOT cut in half. I did and it came out like a burned brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
So, I have ashamedly used this website for years and never joined or reviewed anything...but i gotta admit, this recipe made me do it! IT IS SO EASY! AND tho you have to fiddle w/ it a little to make it as good as slaving over the stove, it is worth it! My modifications: 1) Added mushrooms and leftover (cooked) chicken midway during the last 10 min cooking bit. Also added more veggie broth at that time (about 1/2-3/4 more than called for in the recipe). 2) Changed the ORIGINAL liquid proportions, as well: 2 cups veggie broth and 1/4 cup RED (yes red) wine 3) increased the cooking time by 2-3 minutes to get the rice done (I think i have an underpowed nuker.) 4) Probably added a little extra cheese, too. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Well, count me among the amazed and impressed! I made mine with half butter & half olive oil, all chicken broth for the liquids, and I stirred in 2 tablespoons of prepared pesto sauce at the end. Also, I stirred it halfway through both cooking times to help release more starch and make it creamier. It was a bit oily, but that could be from the added oil in the pesto. I am excited to have a risotto recipe that will be bearable to make in the steamy summer months, when slaving over a boiling pot for 30 minutes is not my favorite activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This was my first try at Risotto and I was a little intimidated by the stove-top version listed on the box. I was surprised and pleased at how well this turned out in the microwave. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
LOVE THIS! I too hate to slave over the stove making risotto the traditional way, so I jumped on this recipe and it was DElicious! I made some revisions and it came out yummy, my husband just devoured it! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, caramelized onions (already had) instead of raw onions, and added more parmesan than it asked for. Most importantly though, I sauteed some crimini mushrooms with butter and wine and added it at the end with the wine. Amazing! I too kept the lid on, don't know if I was suppose to do that. This is a GREAT recipe base! I plan to make it again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Perfect - I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth (didn't have any) this dish came out creamy & perfect. I can't wait to try it again using the vegetable broth. I usually avoid making risotto because it's so time consuming but this recipe makes it soooooo easy. I used this dish as a side with my Chicken Marsala by Lisa also found on this site, along with a salad and I had a perfect meal. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe. Try not to use a plastic microwave container because it could impart a plastic taste to the risotto. I like to vary this recipe by adding different things on different occasions: pesto sauce one night, tomatoes and basil another night, mushrooms and saffron another night. Use whatever you have on hand. Also, if you cut the recipe in half, watch the times very carefully. It gets a bit trickier to cook it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Natomas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Not only is this easy, but it is sooo good! Even better than I have had in restaurants. I didn't have wine so I used chicken bouillon dissolved in water, also left out the garlic. Had some edamame and added that..wonderful! Had it for lunch and dinner. Can't wait to make this for guests. Update!! Just made this for dinner with crab cakes..my hubby is not a big rice "fan". He had 2 helpings and made a "TV" dinner with the leftovers..that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States