Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I can't believe how good this is for being microwaved! Added frozen peas to the mix when I added the wine (actually used apple juice b/c I didn't have a cheap white available). Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this tonight and it came out wonderful, as every other time I made it. This time I added some 10 grams of reconstituted porcini mushsrooms with the onions and garlic, and a big pinch of saffron to the stock (used beef instead of vegetarian. This is a great recipe, so adaptable, and best of all, it allows me to have cocktails with my guests instead of sticking me in the kitchen with a wooden spoon to stir, stir stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I added a can of mushrooms and used apple cider instead of wine. I didn't have an onion so I used dried onions. I cooked up the garlic, butter, and onion on a skillet instead of a separate microwavable bowl (same number of dishes and I could heat up the broth while heating up the other stuff) Quick, easy, and delicious! I'll make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XPOKEYX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a decent risotto. It had a nice flavor and didn't use near as much butter or oil as the recipe called for either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I was very skeptical about this recipe at first, as I didn't think the risotto would get soft enough in the micro. But, I was proven wrong. This is a great micro risotto recipe, and much better than standing over the stove stirring! I used 1/2 cup more broth during cooking, and then stirred in some milk at the end when I added the cheese to make it creamier like traditional risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is pretty good, though not quite as good as the traditional way of cooking risotto. I also found I had to add 1/2 cup morel broth and add on 4 minutes of cooking after the suggested 10 minutes of nuking. I also added a splash of cream w/the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious. First time making risotto. Super easy and got rave reviews from husband and sister. Kids didn't like it, but what's new?!? Update 1/10--tried it again and used red wine and it was even better, and really pretty! Plus, the kids liked it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I doubled the garlic, used half a large onion, and stirred in a few tablespoons of milk with the cheese to give it a little more creaminess. Leftovers reheat well - just add a dash of milk and it's good to go. Impressively good for the limited amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I am going to give this recipe 5 stars for the idea and technique. I have never made risotto before and have always wanted to. I've had this recipe saved for a long time and purchased the arborrio rice to make it. Well, tonight was my opportunity to try it out. I followed the recipe closely, but substituted shallots for onions (like the flavor better) and used chicken instead of veggie broth. This was very good, but I did use more liquid than the recipe called for. My rice container suggested 3 cups of liquid for 1 cup of uncooked rice, and I think that's a lot closer to what you will really need to use. I ran out of broth and had to add extra wine (didn't want to use water!) so mine ended up being pretty wine tasting (is that a word?). The kids weren't crazy about that, but hubs and I both enjoyed it. Would probably be great topped with some fresh chives or parsley at the end. Next time will plan of having more broth available and just a bit of wine. Loved the parm stirred in at the end. Will totally try this again and it's nice enough for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This did not go as expected. In fairness I did not have the white wine so I substituted Marsala and red wine. Even so the rice was thicker and not as creamy as risotto that I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States