Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I'm a huge fan of Microwave risotto. Having experimented over time, I now add a dash of light cream at the end and stir it through and this makes a big difference and brings it closer to a traditionally made risotto. I vary the recipe depending on what I have in the fridge and often add semi-dried tomato, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, onion, baby spinach, a can of chopped tomatoes (including the liquid), cheese or chicken. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Thank the stars above for this amazing and quick risotto!! I used apple juice instead of the wine and it was fabulous! It does leave a strong taste so if you're not too keen on the AJ or wine, reduce the amount a little. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well, who would have expected that? It's not quite so creamy as the old-fashioned loooooong cooked risotto, but it really does capture the essence of it. Big hit in our family, though I have to say, I used bouillion instead of broth, and it was too salty. I wouldn't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Nothing beats real "stirred" risotto, but this was a fairly good substitute. I liked the fact that I could do other things while it was cooking. It just didn't have that same creaminess that risotto should have. I added a small can of mushrooms (with the water) and subsituted chicken broth for the veggie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Unbelievable! This is a superb, restaurant quality dish. I followed alot of the reviewers recommendations~~>I added a shallots and mushrooms that I browned in butter at the point where I added the white wine. I also used chicken stock (Emeril's brand that they sell in the supermarket). The result was delicious, creamy. I really couldn't stop eating this! I can't wait to make it again. One reviewer said she served this with chicken marsala so I think I will try that next time! Thank you for a fabulous 10 STAR recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is easy to make, and we love adding chicken, fresh mozerella cheese, tomato and basil. It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Delicious! I will definitely make again. I love how quick and easy this recipe is without compromising on taste. I added a handful of finely diced bacon, to the garlic, onion and butter mixture. I also used chicken stock as I didn't have any vegetable stock or white wine on hand. I have made it twice now and it has been a hit both times even my fussy two year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Easy but a little bland. I added sauted exotic mushrooms at the end. It did take a little longer to cook but that may have been because I had 12 servings. I will make again when I want risotto but dont have the time for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it several times. I substituted with chicken broth, and I have made it using all broth when I was out of white wine. Also very happy with the way it reheats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States