Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Perfect mashed potatoes. Heating the milk and butter is a must, I didn't realize what a difference it would make, my potatoes were not gummy and they stayed hot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe for "good old fashioned" mashed potatoes! It's straight forward and just plain delicious. The perfect mashed potato for your favorite gravy! I always heat up my milk in the microwave and add it to the potatoes (sometimes use half n half to make them creamier). You just can't go wrong with this classic recipe for comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Take about 8 cloves of raw garlic and throw them into the water with the potatos and let them cook together. They will be soft and mash easily. TO DIE FOR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been making mashed potatoes like this for over 50 years...and it's the way MY mother made them. For this recipe to be a success, you have to know a little about potatoes. Notice the recipe called for BAKING potatoes. Red ones will be gummy. Yukon Golds make GOOD mashed potatoes. Start them off in COLD water so everything will reach boiling at the same time. When they are tender, drain them in a colandar and let them STEAM. The more steam is gone, the more the potatoes will absorb the milk. (No problem with 'soupy' potatoes here...you even MAY have to add more milk than the recipe calls for. While the potatoes are steaming, heat the butter and milk in the same pot you cooked the potatoes in. (Why wash another pan?) Add the steamed potatoes and mash and season. (I've had my share of 'gummy' and 'soupy' mashed potatoe in my time :) Oh! And if this is for a special occasion...use cream instead of milk. Over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great basic recipe. If you're watching your calories etc, try substituting the potatoes starchy cooking water for most of the milk. After that, only a quick splash of milk is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This recipe is not bad but I added all the milk in and the mash potato became too runny (like soup). I'll say not to add all the milk this recipe suggested. Just add a little milk a time until u think it's the texture u want and that's it. Then maybe u'll love it. ^-^.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esmee
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I have been looking for a recipe for good, old fashioned, mashed potatoes like mom used to make. This is it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Oh, my God! These are the best mashed potatoes that I have ever put in my mouth! I added cream cheese (half of one 8 oz pkg.) Let's just say, there are NO left-overs! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I just made this recipe and it is fantastic. I made this recipe x 4. I only used 1/2 the milk (I think if I added any more it would be too runny) and added 4 dabs of cream cheese for a little umph. Excellent, this is a great recipe for you to make into your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is your very basic recipe for mashed potatoes and I have always made them this way. I personally prefer using half & half or heavy cream in place of the milk. It's not healthier but it does makes these creamier. I also prefer "more" to my mashed potatoes (ie: chives or sour cream) BUT these are very good and go well with many traditional meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States