Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent and simple! I never warmed the milk/butter ahead of time, but it's excellent. Also, I keep the skins on for health and taste (well-scrubbed). It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadlycynnamon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've never heated the butter and milk first - great idea! I also usually add cauliflower in with the potatoes when I boil them. The taste great and my picky son doesn't even know they're there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I use this recipe alot and sometimes mix it up by adding a little crushed garlic. I also like to use chicken broth or a bouillon cube when boiling the potatoes. It adds a little extra flavor and my 8 yr. old LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Great just the way it is. Don't put all the milk in at once. I like my mashed potatoes a little drier than some people and with a little extra pepper. Then with some good gravy over the top...mmmmm...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Like the recipe says, basic mashed potatoes. Can't go wrong with that. I'm a southern girl so I add a good bit more butter to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Thanks this recipe was quick and simple to make. I added cheese and garlic for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So easy to make. Followed the directions exactly. Love a mashed potatoes meal that doesn't have a page full of ingreadients. Might try adding some garlic...but either way it is a fantastice recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good and very simple. The 1 cup of milk may seem, initially, to be too much but after folding the milk into the mashed potato mix, it will incorporate nicely and give a smooth texture to the mashed potato. With that much milk though, this recipe is not ideal for 'next day potato'.... i.e. should be eaten right away. Thanks and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Exactly how I make my potatoes ... only I don't use an electric mixer, since they come out gummy when I do. I hand mash the potatoes, then stir in the melted butter & milk. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was planning on making a different mashed potato recipe from this site, but my mom beat me to it and made mashed potatoes how she always makes them, basic and simple. Went very well with what we served it with, "Slow Cooker Cassoulet" from this site. I like basic mashed potatoes, reminds me of my child hood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States