Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
As advertised, this is your basic delicious mashed potato recipe. I left the skins on my Yukon golds, and used skim milk. Perfect compliment to my country ribs with gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is how I make mashed potatoes, but I don't heat the milk and butter separately. I drain the potatoes well, then add the milk and butter, salt and pepper and cook on low heat for a minute or so. Then I mash the potatoes with an electric mixer. But, I don't mix too long, or you have starchy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Blevens McKee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just made the potatoes, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
clutch. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I love this easy, simple recipe. I have always put in 2-3 bay leaves in while cooking the potatoes. My husband says they are the best Mashed Potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
If the mashed potatoes are too runny, just mash/whip a little longer. The longer the potatoes are whipped, the more they will thicken up. Try substituting 2/3 cup of the water the potatoes cooked in, mixed with 1/3 cup of powdered milk for the 1 cup of milk. Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great basic recipe! Add two chicken bouillon cubes to the water as they boil and use a package of cream cheese when you mix! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe... for a richer taste try using canned evaporated milk... I use this for mashed pots. and mac n cheese and it makes the flavor that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I like basic potatoes as this recipe calls for. As does my husband. I make a few changes though: I use a 5 lb bag of potatoes, boil them, mash them up, put a 1/2 stick butter in to melt, then mash again, add the milk (usually about 3 tbsp), salt and pepper and whip with a electric mixture and it's nice and smooth. My family loves it. For holidays I double the batch and use 1 stick of butter. I havent' tried melting the butter and milk first, I may try that next time tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe for mashed potatoes. Nothing fancy about them but the flavor is amazing. They remind me of my grandmothers cooking. Thanks Esmee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States