Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
As advertised, this is your basic delicious mashed potato recipe. I left the skins on my Yukon golds, and used skim milk. Perfect compliment to my country ribs with gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is how I make mashed potatoes, but I don't heat the milk and butter separately. I drain the potatoes well, then add the milk and butter, salt and pepper and cook on low heat for a minute or so. Then I mash the potatoes with an electric mixer. But, I don't mix too long, or you have starchy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just made the potatoes, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaylakinney2010

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
clutch. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I love this easy, simple recipe. I have always put in 2-3 bay leaves in while cooking the potatoes. My husband says they are the best Mashed Potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
If the mashed potatoes are too runny, just mash/whip a little longer. The longer the potatoes are whipped, the more they will thicken up. Try substituting 2/3 cup of the water the potatoes cooked in, mixed with 1/3 cup of powdered milk for the 1 cup of milk. Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great basic recipe! Add two chicken bouillon cubes to the water as they boil and use a package of cream cheese when you mix! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe... for a richer taste try using canned evaporated milk... I use this for mashed pots. and mac n cheese and it makes the flavor that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I like basic potatoes as this recipe calls for. As does my husband. I make a few changes though: I use a 5 lb bag of potatoes, boil them, mash them up, put a 1/2 stick butter in to melt, then mash again, add the milk (usually about 3 tbsp), salt and pepper and whip with a electric mixture and it's nice and smooth. My family loves it. For holidays I double the batch and use 1 stick of butter. I havent' tried melting the butter and milk first, I may try that next time tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe for mashed potatoes. Nothing fancy about them but the flavor is amazing. They remind me of my grandmothers cooking. Thanks Esmee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States