Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
this recipe made the PERFECT mashed potatoes!!!!!!!!!!!! I added seasoned salt to the boiling water so that the potatoes were even more flavorful. it was fantastic and creamy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Regular mashed patatoes. I added curd cheese to make it a GREAT mashed patatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Basic isn't the word for these mashed potatoes, they were perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Blackwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Be sure to add the milk a little at a time to get your desired consistency. If I would have added it all, they would have been way too thin. Just a matter of preference I suppose. Otherwise they were pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very, very good mashed potatoes :-) I didn't follow the proportions exactly, but I judged how much I needed based on what the potatoes looked like. I also used heavy cream instead of milk, and added a sprinkle of fresh ground chili. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabet
Living In: Osnabrück, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I use sour cream instead of milk. Butter can be melted but sour cream goes in right from the container into hot potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been making mashed potatoes like this for over 50 years...and it's the way MY mother made them. For this recipe to be a success, you have to know a little about potatoes. Notice the recipe called for BAKING potatoes. Red ones will be gummy. Yukon Golds make GOOD mashed potatoes. Start them off in COLD water so everything will reach boiling at the same time. When they are tender, drain them in a colandar and let them STEAM. The more steam is gone, the more the potatoes will absorb the milk. (No problem with 'soupy' potatoes here...you even MAY have to add more milk than the recipe calls for. While the potatoes are steaming, heat the butter and milk in the same pot you cooked the potatoes in. (Why wash another pan?) Add the steamed potatoes and mash and season. (I've had my share of 'gummy' and 'soupy' mashed potatoe in my time :) Oh! And if this is for a special occasion...use cream instead of milk. Over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
There isn't enough butter in these mashed potatoes, you should have a least a stick of butter. I make mashed potatoes all the time and everyone just loves my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pedie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wellton, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Thank you for the great mashed potatoes recipe! I think this is the first time I've ever made them from scratch. We had my boyfriend's parents over for dinner and I made these with the chicken I made and they came out great! The only thing is, I did not use salt and pepper. Also, I probably used about 2.5 lbs. of potatoes, I just eyeballed them though. Also, with the amount of potatoes I only used half a cup of milk and that was perfect. I kind of destroyed our blender on another recipe I was making, so I used a fork to crush the potatoes, then I added the milk mixture and then whisked it to the creaminess. At this point, the mashed potatoes were kind of cold, so I had to microwave them for a bit, which was no problem. Great recipe, will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great basic recipe. If you don't mind a little extra fat, use half and half instead of milk! It makes them much more creamy and less grainy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States