Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Mine turned out amazing!!! I added dried oregano to mine and it gave them a more Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I substitued fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for milk, the potatoes were really creamy. Next time i'll try Chef Nan's garlic version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I love this recipe my daughter is gluten and lactose intolerant but she can have yogurt and butter so instead of milk and butter we used homemade yogurt and butter it worked great we love how it turned out its creamy and delicious this is definitely a recipe we will be using again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The only thing we changed is we added garlic to the butter and mashed ours in the kitchen aid mixer. We used whole organic milk. The potatoes taste as good as the whipped potatoes at high end restaurants. Highly recommend this easy to make recipe!! We used Klondike Rose potatoes (red skin golden flesh bought at target). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doellsy
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Turned out great! Easy first time potato experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Just perfect! Quick, easy, and delicious...Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These potatoes are so easy & yummy. I actually followed the recipe so am qualified to rate it. I waited to add the warmed milk & butter until the potatoes stopped steaming in the colander. This step was something I hadn't thought of before, it kept potatoes warm during mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Best and easiest mashed potatoes I have very tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a good no-fail base. Here's a warning... this recipe makes for a loose, smooth and almost runny mashed potatoes. If you, like me, like your mashed potatoes on the thicker side, don't add in all of the warm milk and butter mixture at once. I did make that mistake but I quickly solved the runny problem by adding in about a quarter cup of instant mashed potato flakes. It thickened it up and it still tasted like it was made from real potatoes. I doubled the amount of butter for richness (used Smart Balance Spread) and did not need to add any salt. Actually, I found the Smart Balance Spread to be on the salty side so I put in a couple pinches of sugar (yes, sugar!). It gave it more depth and it's not like it was candy-sweet or anything. I also sprinkled in a touch of no-salt meat seasoning (a combination of onion powder, garlic powder, etc) and some green onion for freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
It was pretty good. I used salted butter to give it a little more taste. Also added some dried basil leaves for more fragrance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States