Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a good no-fail base. Here's a warning... this recipe makes for a loose, smooth and almost runny mashed potatoes. If you, like me, like your mashed potatoes on the thicker side, don't add in all of the warm milk and butter mixture at once. I did make that mistake but I quickly solved the runny problem by adding in about a quarter cup of instant mashed potato flakes. It thickened it up and it still tasted like it was made from real potatoes. I doubled the amount of butter for richness (used Smart Balance Spread) and did not need to add any salt. Actually, I found the Smart Balance Spread to be on the salty side so I put in a couple pinches of sugar (yes, sugar!). It gave it more depth and it's not like it was candy-sweet or anything. I also sprinkled in a touch of no-salt meat seasoning (a combination of onion powder, garlic powder, etc) and some green onion for freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
It was pretty good. I used salted butter to give it a little more taste. Also added some dried basil leaves for more fragrance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Lee's Mashed Potatoes - I find when making mashed potatoes that using evaporated milk makes them creamier and I leave a little of the potato water in there to thin them down. I like a lot of butter and salt is a must. Lee S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
all i can say is yummo these mashed potatoes were so good they were gone no leftovers,, and i tried the trick with heating the butter and milk wow what a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYCOOKING15329

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avella, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prosperity, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Good but needs a lot more butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I, like another reviewer, would have thought that this wasn't enough butter. I always add a LOT more butter than this to my mashed potatoes...usually about half a stick or so. Although I might prefer them this way, this recipe produces pretty good mashed potatoes as written, and I'm glad that I tried them because I'm pretty sure it's a lot less fatty when made with 2% milk than the potatoes that I usually make. This might become my regular "weeknight" potato recipe to make things a little lighter...although I might add a SMIDGEN more butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Awesome recipe. It is perfect & simple with its natural flavor - the way mashed potato should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I always use this recipe to make mashed potatoes. I use 4 medium russet potatoes,or four meduium yukon golden potatoes. I also add some cheddar cheese,which makes it extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making mashed potatoes but this recipe is the best.Definetely I will this make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States