Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
heating the milk and butter is key. these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Great stuff - my boys love 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is definitely easy to make, but seems to be missing something. Maybe more butter and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Easy, quick, simple with that "homestyle" taste. Heating the milk and butter first is a must. I do often times use a little more butter to taste. This is the first recipe I followed when learning how to make mashed potatoes and no matter how I change them up now, I always use this method as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I tripled it and it made a HUGE amount! Freezes well for future use. I added several cloves of mashed roasted garlic at the end. Also added a bar of cream cheese (remember I tripled it) along with salt and pepper. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Amazing! I'd always had a hard time with turning out 'potato goo-soup' instead of mashed potatoes. These taste just like my mom's! A bit of a side-note, if you have a microwave-safe measuring cup, you can microwave the milk and butter together, stir it up a bit, and then blend with the potatoes that way. My stove was otherwise occupied when I made these, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good and yes basic, this is always how I prepared mashed potatoes, except we call them cream potatoes. I think just eyeballing your milk will help with the consistancy you may want, instead of just adding the whole cup of milk at once, everything kind of depends on the size of your potatoes. I think this will help so your outcome will not be soupy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best! Smash the potatoes to mostly lump-free before adding the butter and milk. One thing I suggest doing differently is to add the butter to the potatoes first, then add heated milk as needed. That way you get all of the butter in the mashed potatoes and can add just the right amount of milk for the correct texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Good flavor. I used an extra T butter after I made them as I thought it needed it. I only used 3/4 milk that's all they needed. I didn't heat the water before adding potatoes, I just put the potatoes in the pan and added water to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States