Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
If the mashed potatoes are too runny, just mash/whip a little longer. The longer the potatoes are whipped, the more they will thicken up. Try substituting 2/3 cup of the water the potatoes cooked in, mixed with 1/3 cup of powdered milk for the 1 cup of milk. Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great basic recipe! Add two chicken bouillon cubes to the water as they boil and use a package of cream cheese when you mix! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe... for a richer taste try using canned evaporated milk... I use this for mashed pots. and mac n cheese and it makes the flavor that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I like basic potatoes as this recipe calls for. As does my husband. I make a few changes though: I use a 5 lb bag of potatoes, boil them, mash them up, put a 1/2 stick butter in to melt, then mash again, add the milk (usually about 3 tbsp), salt and pepper and whip with a electric mixture and it's nice and smooth. My family loves it. For holidays I double the batch and use 1 stick of butter. I havent' tried melting the butter and milk first, I may try that next time tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe for mashed potatoes. Nothing fancy about them but the flavor is amazing. They remind me of my grandmothers cooking. Thanks Esmee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This incredibly simple recipe turns out consistent results every single time. Really. It's amazing. Will most certainly be using this any time the starch ends up mashed for our dinner times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe for "good old fashioned" mashed potatoes! It's straight forward and just plain delicious. The perfect mashed potato for your favorite gravy! I always heat up my milk in the microwave and add it to the potatoes (sometimes use half n half to make them creamier). You just can't go wrong with this classic recipe for comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Pretty good but just a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent and simple! I never warmed the milk/butter ahead of time, but it's excellent. Also, I keep the skins on for health and taste (well-scrubbed). It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadlycynnamon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've never heated the butter and milk first - great idea! I also usually add cauliflower in with the potatoes when I boil them. The taste great and my picky son doesn't even know they're there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States