Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
perfect mashed potato recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Good, but not the best mashed potatoes I've ever had. I used garlic salt instead of regular salt to season the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I did this recipe for 15, subbed 1 cup of milk for half & half I had and added a few shakes of garlic salt. They taste pretty good but my greatest difficulty is salting food so I think it's a little salty. I wish Joe had said how much salt to start out with. We'll see how the family reacts tonight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
My husband likes mashed potatoes whereas I like whipped spuds, so I tried this recipe to make him happy. :) I microwaved the milk and butter together on medium until the butter was melted... Oh, and after draining the potatoes I returned them to the pot and put the pot back on the burner (electric stove so heat turned off but still hot) for a moment to evaporate any excess moisture. Makes for even better potatoes! Next time, I'll add cheese and maybe garlic salt. Thanks so much for the recipe, Jon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good basic mashed potatoes. So basic you don't even need the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
this is a good recipe for basic mashed potatoes. i cut my milk back to 2/3 cup & they were still very creamy. thanks jon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Great recipe, turned out perfect, and very easy to make. I did what the other person said about boiling garlic and mashing it with the potatoes and it was superb. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Take about 8 cloves of raw garlic and throw them into the water with the potatos and let them cook together. They will be soft and mash easily. TO DIE FOR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This very basic recipe, did make a difference just by heating up the milk and butter. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I enjoy making different recipes just to try a little variety. But this basic potatoe recipe is hard to beat. This is the way my wife makes her mashed potatoes and when I want to make a recipe that I KNOW will be really good, then I make them like this. This is the best way I've found yet to make really good tasting mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States