Basic Irish Soda Bread With Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
5 stars not enough! I added buttermilk instead of plain milk, and being in a hurry didn't cut the dough into squares, just rolled it into a wheel and put the beaten egg (yes, 1 is enough) on top, with some shredded provolone just dumped on it. After 10 minutes it was ready and I cut it into wedges. Wonderful!!! like a pizza, but no waiting for the dough to rise! Shamefully easy and quick, and I got a lot of praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very simple and delicious! Big hit with my Irish husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Made this for a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone loved it! Very easy to make and the recipe is accurate - the only change is that you definitely don't need two beaten eggs - one is more than enough for glazing the bread. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
The word 'basic' in the title of this recipe started wheels turning in my head. The following is where I went with this wonderful bread: First, I increased the recipe by 50%, then 1) In the dough, I mixed 3 tablespoons sliced black olives and 1/4 teaspoon Herbs de Provence. 2) I rolled it out into a circle about 3/8 of an inch thick. 3) I only used 1 egg for brushing the top. 4) For the topping, I used 4 sun dried tomatoes (sliced), and equal amounts of assiaga, flaked Parmesan and fresh grated mozzarella cheeses ~~ totaling 1 cup. Baking time was 19 minutes @ 400 F. It rose to 3/4 of an inch when done. I cut it into squares and served warm at yesterdays St. Patricks Day party. Okay, so what I did to it made it so VERY unIrish (more mediteranean). I'm looking forward to using this basic recipe for other tasty experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made it for patty's day and I daresay it will be a recipe I will use alot! I used it as a pizza dough today (as one person mentioned) and it really turned out great! To the person below who had a sticky mess: I had the same result until I remembered that dough needs to be kneaded! I sprinkled some flour on it and kneaded away until it was no longer a sticky mess, this may just be the advice you were looking for. Good luck! It is a really versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Tried this recipe and it was wonderful, goes great with soups or without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe was quite simple and easy to make but, I found it a little plain. I enjoyed it with cream cheese and some other toppings. Perhaps I'm missing the context of the bread but, there just isn't any excitement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This recipe was great. I did make some personal changes. I changed the presentation by cutting the dough into circles. I also dipped the dough into the the eggs, covering both sides, and spreading mozzarella cheese, garlic salt, and chili powder on top. This will be my snack dish for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Basic Irish Soda Bread Haiku: "Yes, it is basic. By basic, I mean boring. Drag it through some soup!" OK, maybe I'm a novice when it comes to dough, but I had a really difficult, sticky disaster of a time rolling this and cutting it into rectangles. And forget dipping them in the egg (btw, yes, 1 egg's plenty) - I had to brush the egg on. Took more like 22 min. for mine to get even remotely brown. I ate a piece plain (yawn), but liked it a whole lot more when I ate it w/ soup. Later on, I spread humus on it, toasted, and that was pretty tasty, but by itself, it's a little mundane. Perhaps per one of the more glowing reviews, I should've used buttermilk instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States