Basic Indian Curry with Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Very good curry recipe. I made it without the serrano peppers (my husband likes his Indian food MILD.) and added tobasco at the table to taste. I tried homemade paneer for this one - it didn't turn out well, and my paneer melted into the curry. Fabulous combination of spices, though. My husband says it's the best curry I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love peas, love paneer, love Indian food. This was perfect. The spices took some playing around with, and I definitely recommend adding a good slosh of heavy cream. Oh, and I used a 9oz microwaveable package of peas - that was more than plenty. This was awesome served over plain basmati rice, with paratha to scoop up the sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
As an Indian who recently moved into my own apartment and realized I don't know how to make Indian food, I must say this was pretty good. Made a few adjustments though. First of all, if you can get whole garam masala (combo of cumin seeds, corriander seeds, bay leaves, fennel seeds, cloves, cinnamon, and cardamom) it makes all the difference. Fry it up before you add the onions until it gets fragrant. Also, instead of adding cream, add a tablespoon or two of light sour cream. Adds the creaminess without so many calories. Since its cold, make sure you temper it (add some of the hot curry sauce into the sour cream to bring up the temperature so it doesn't curdle then add the hot sour cream mix). Also, since I'm a health freak, instead of adding peas and paneer, use edamame (soy) beans and fried tofu chunks. Lastly, make sure you simmer the sauce at the end for a while, gets rid of the canned tomato taste. Not quite authentic recipe, but easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was the favorite when I made a couple of different dishes. I made the paneer with the buttermilk recipe from this site. And I used the light sour cream suggestion from another review, at least 1/2 cup. The frozen peas and tomato puree make this dish fairly quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was very good. My husband is Indian and he really liked it. I don't know what "tomato puree" is so I used two 8 ounce cans of tomato sauce. I also used chili powder instead of serrano peppers and chili powder. I used about 1/4 teaspoon, you could use more or less to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBeeTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grady, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good as written. My variation is to add some cubed potatoes in addition to the peas, skip the peppers and up the spices, and use condensed canned tomato soup instead of the pureed tomatoes + ketchup. This variation is by far and away the best curry I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A good, solid recipe that's easily adaptable to whatever veggies you happen to have on hand. I used fresh paneer (easy to make at home if you can't find it) and that really gave the dish a fresh, homemade taste. It's a mild dish, so I added some cracked red pepper at the end just to bump up the heat a bit. Otherwise, I made it as written and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Padawan60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this with quite a few modifications: - No serrano peppers - No cream - No measured ingredients (just eyeballed) So, this was very loosely followed, but turned out great. I found that it tasted a little too much like tomato past, so I added some water for it to cook down and probably an additional 1/4 tsp (rough estimate) of the spices. Instead of the peppers, I used hot chili oil. Served with saffron rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I followed this pretty closely, except instead of cream, I added yogurt. The dish was good, but I wasn't too into tomato puree, so like most people, I added water and cooked it down. This was pretty good but next time I'll make my own personal modifications for spices, etc... This took no time to make, so that was a major bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Too many peas!!! Seriously, cut the peas in half and add more paneer or Tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States