Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
We recently discovered how much we like hummus. Be careful not to burn the garlic! Awesone first attempt to make our own and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. Yes, simple. Yes, you could add ingredients but for a simple, great hummus recipe-start here. I love garlic and have used this as a dip (mostly) but also as a sandwich spread in lieu of mayo. This is in regular rotation for my family and as such, always have chickpeas just so I can make this recipe! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Overall very good and easy, just a little too plain for me. This needs more garlic and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. Not everyone in my house agreed but my girls...the guys just didn't care for it. But as the girls out bet the guys...It's going to be a repeat offender on the app table. I stayed with in the ingredients but used a homemade garlic and herb infused olive oil. And I measured the liquid from the can of garbanzo beans, to know how much I need to add for my desired consistency. In a can of beans the liquid amount is roughly 2/3 cup, I used 1/3 cup when processing my batch in my Ninja unit. And used the smaller of the unit. I processed until I couldn't feel any bits of sesame seeds and to be quite honest, a little bit of bits isn't bad. You just need to know that every little bit when processing you need to make sure to scrap down you mix, or it will be left chunky and not desired smoothness your looking for. The nice thing about this basic recipe, is there is room for add-ins. I can totally see adding roasted red peppers and other flavors from my pantry and even left over veggies. But the true testament is that if you don't like hummus, you won't like the recipe. I love hummus and I think this is a great basic recipe as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was definitely not good hummus. I didn't think it was something that could be messed up. It was SO THICK! I didn't want to start adding a bunch of liquid from the can. That is not traditional and it would have made it super salty. As is, it reminded me of a chickpea version of refried beans. It was also bland, with missing the seasonings. I added some salt, lemon juice, and some cubard seasonings, but it still was missing something important. I was not sure exactly what. Maybe, the tahini is really needed for texture or creaminess and possibly flavor too. I have a good blender, and it even left some sesame seed bits. They just were not a good subitute for prepared sesame seed paste (tahini). I guess, it is just needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is excellent. I used roasted garlic instead of frying it in oil. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
4 stars for being a basic recipe intended to be hummus at its most simplified, but it's definitely bland. Personally, I think hummus needs to have at least some lemon juice to brighten it up, but this recipe is a good foundation for making your own hummus to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Easy as can be, and totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade1956

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
When I made this I toasted the sesame seeds which brought out a nice flavor. I made it with verbal instructions from my mom and the step to cook the garlic was accidentally missed, but it still turned out great. I loved how fast it was to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
added more garlic (we like garlic) and a about a tablespoon of lemon juice for kick! other than that its a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States