Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I thought this was pretty bland by itself, and added a lot of extra stuff. My boyfriend liked it, so maybe I'm just being too picky. Good spices to add are ground cumin, paprika, garlic powder, and lemon juice. Plain yogurt also adds something. It's good to experiment. Adds a little spice to life, no pun intended. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving. This was my first attempt at hummus and it came out pretty well. I didn't add all of the olive oil, trying to save some calories. I added probably 2-3 tablespoons of reserved liquid to get it to the right consistency. It tasted somewhat bland, so I added a little garlic salt and some rosemary seasoning blend. The end result was good. I served it with pita and bagel chips...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I did not like this recipe at all. BASIC is the key word here. I had to add more garlic and even add lemon juice just to get it to taste right. It didn't even come close to authentic hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Better than what I've bought in stores and easy to make even though I had to start with more of the reserved liquid than initially called for to blend easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I will never buy commercial hummus again...This is a fab recipe and so easy to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I needed to add a lot of liquid to this to get it smooth enough, including lemon juice which is definitely needed for an authentic flavour. Unfortunately, though, I think I used too much of the sesame seeds and I toasted them a bit too much as well, because the sesame taste was really overpowering. So watch out for that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is a great basic recipe! We didnt have sesame seeds, so we just added loads of garlic, paprika, curry, and lemon juice. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Great as is or add ground corriander and cayenne to taste and this is something that is delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
From this base recipe, it is very easy to experiment with some extras. I added some roasted red pepper, chilli powder, and cumin, and mine turned out very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I felt the garlic was a bit strong, even though I love garlic. I added lemon juice and more bean juice as I blended because is seemed very thick to me. Next time I will add half the garlic and continue to use lemon juice to gain the texture I like...overall, it is a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States