Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is a wonderful easy recipe for hummus lovers. Very easly you can add other ingredients and maybe add another clove of garlic and some more toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Good but needs a few tweaks to be amazing! Toast the sesame seeds and roast the garlic first! Next time I will add an extra clove or two of garlic. Overall a great jumping off point to add numerous flavors too...perhaps sun dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, olives...the options are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very good, and simple. I didn't have sesame seeds, so I added some soy sauce. Which also doubled as the salt. Thanks for the no fuss recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
YUM! This was the first time I had ever made hummus. Pretty plain by itself, but simple to jazz up with lemon juice and extra spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
It was just ok to me. This was my first attempt at making hummus and I feel it is missing something. I see a few recommendations for lemon juice. Perhaps I'll try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Excellent hummus! This is a great recipe for the person who does not stock tahini in their pantry. I added 1/3 cup roasted jar red sweet peppers for zip and also sauteed the garlic in sesame oil. Great flavor and big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mar1211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
After reading the revies, always having used the tahini in my hummus, I too toasted the sesame seeds and garlic in a drop of olive oil. Considering how I love a bit spicy taste, added a pinch of cayanne pepper and paprika for giving that beautiful color. Oh so yum! Good recipe for a basic hummus. Not sure how it would taste without toasting for flavor. Do not like the raw garlic taste either....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
this recipe is so bland, it seems like its missing too much. i added cumin and lemon juice, and it was much better. by itself its too blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kara rocketshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent, but use lots more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I liked most things about this recipe but the olive oil was too strong for my taste. I would probably make this again, just with less oil. Very easy and quick to make. I made it for a party and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States