Basic Hard-Cooked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Worked well for me. Happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Super easy and they came out perfect. No gray stuff on the yolks which looks ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've used this recipe a few times for hard-cooked eggs for a simple snack or to top salads or potato salads. Sometimes the shells stick sometimes they don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This method worked out perfectly. i have tried it a couple of times and wouldn't do it any other way! This time I used only 3 eggs because that is all I needed for the recipe that i way doing. it should work for any amount of eggs! just be sure that they aren't too crowded in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
The way I've been doing these for many years is, put eggs in cold water, bring just to the boiling point, then turn to just below simmer and simmer for 20 minutes, cool under cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great basic instructions! There definitely is a difference between hard-cooked and hard-boiled. I used this method for pickled eggs. After I drained them (whether hard-cooked or hard-boiled) I submerge them in ice water. I've never had the awful green ring by doing this and they're easy to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Perfect. I didn't actually let them come to a full boil, but if I had they would have been perfect. I posted a picture of my slightly undercooked eggs. They still worked well for making deviled eggs, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I've been cooking eggs the wrong way for a very long time! I'm so glad I came across these instructions. The eggs turned out beautifully and no green ring. I let the large eggs sit in the hot water for 16 minutes (I was a little nervous) and they were thoroughly cooked and wonderfully tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Although I've been making hard cooked eggs for many years, I was glad to find this info. as a refresher. Lately I've had "hard to peel" eggs and this info. was worth the reading to find out why! Funny how "stuff" we think we already know can be refreshed - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States