Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ffffsteph
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was amazing! I tried it with the beans whole, but then took a hand masher and mashed the soup in the pot for a bit and thought it was even better that way. I also soaked them overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made twice and my kids and husband raved both times. Subbed 4 cups of stock per other reviewers' advice, but otherwise kept to the recipe. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I basically combined this recipe and another that I found online that was quite similar. Here’s what I did. I soaked the beans overnight. I used 7 1/2 cups of chicken broth, no water, a ham shank and one cup each of the carrots, celery and onions. I used all of the other ingredients except the additional chopped ham. My ham shank had quite a bit of ham on it, which was plenty. I started by sauteeing the carrots, celery and onions in about 3 T. of butter and then added the rest of the ingredients, except the salt. I kept this at a low simmer for 3 - 3 1/2 hours. I simmered covered for the first 2 1/2 hours and then took the lid off so it would cook down and get a little thicker. My version yielded 9 cups of soup. Hubs loves bean soup and gave this two thumbs up! A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was fabulous! My husband had seconds. I took the advice of one review using 8 cups of chicken broth instead of water. We added diced potatoes along with other veggies. I also let the beans soak overnight. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Macken-West
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added cubed potatoes to mine and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Good Recipe! Also made this with buttermilk cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Adjusted recipe for canned beans and used chicken broth instead of water. Delicious! Loved it! Froze well, will make a double batch just to have some in the freezer for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have made this about 4 times so far and everyone loves it. I did use 4 cans of beans Instead of dry beans. Also, I took others advice and used 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linders
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is so good I plan to use it for annual family cookie bake. Taste nothing like a cookie and flavorfully hardy also easy quick to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States