Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made it but had to do some changes, we are Puertorricans and it was kind of bland for our taste. I added some sofrito, extra garlic,olive oil, cilantro and a sazon cube!!! It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It's good I like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I followed some of commenter's suggestions and threw everything into the slow cooker after soaking the beans overnight. I didn't have any bay leaves and only added about half the salt. It turned out great. Plus, it made my whole house smell delicious! What a nice way to be greeted when I walked through the door. Perfect way to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe is good. I added just these minor changes. used a ham bone. Used a whole onion and also added two cut up slices of bacon and ham base. when you can't find the onion your soup is done. Simmered about five hours. The ham base was all the sodium i needed so didn't add any. After I took out the bone (most of the meat had fallen off) I cooled it and my Australian Shepherd had a fabulous and healthy chewy for himself. Kove this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Added Chicken broth which I think helped with the flavor and tweaked some of the other ingredients. I think I would try a different recipe for ham and bean soup next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
The very best ingredient I add is my chicken stock. I like to serve this soup over a nice piece of steamed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We loved it and the only complication were that I mis read the directions... I added the cold water ad beans to heat brought it to a boil - where as I should have brought the cold water to a boil then added the beans I'm unsure if this is why my soup was so thick- I had to add water upon reheating for dinner the 2nd day. I would prefer it without the chunks of ham personally but my family loved it- hammock gave AMAZING warm and hearty flavor. Love it! Thanks so much I shall read more carefully next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this soup using all the suggestions of the other cooks. We found this soup to have no flavor at all. Was a big disappointment and waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this soup today and it is great. I was looking for a recipe like my dad always made for us at home. I cooked two ham hocks and used the broth to soak the beans overnight using 9 cups of the broth. Simmered it for 2 hours and I will say this is one of the best soups my wife and I have ever tasted. Thank you for the recipe and for the great memories of my Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States