Basic Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used all fresh spices and topped the cookies with lavender vanilla bean sugar from our local Savory Spice Shop (brushed on olive oil and sprinkled sugar). I used white pepper instead of black. I refrigerated the dough overnight. I cut very thin, small cookies and baked them for 10-12 minutes instead. They were crispy ginger snaps and I got the most compliments on cookies that I've ever received. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The taste is good, but these are more like "gingerbread" than "ginger snaps." I think of ginger snaps being thin and crispy, but these turned out think and cake-like. They didn't last long, so I'm giving them 4 stars, but if they'd been more like ginger snaps they would've gotten 5 stars. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This cookie is tasty, but holy muscles! you get a work out with this dough! I added more liquid for it to come together, but it was still really difficult to roll out. I played around with it then decided enough was enough and my exercise was over for the day. I froze the rest for pie crust or another cookie exercise day. This bakes up very nice in the oven and you can end up with crunchy cookies if you bake longer or have a thinner dough (yeah, mine wasn't so thin) or soft if you have thick dough and cook a bit less. They are full of ginger flavor, so if you like that, odds are you'll like this cookie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent texture, easy to make, and fabulous flavor. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Truly easy. I roll the dough out in powdered sugar. Once I ran short of molasses and made it up with honey, it worked fine! A simple glaze of powdered sugar, corn syrup, water and vanilla makes a good icing for these and dries shiny and hard. Lemon extract would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I made this recipe and it's awesome. I didn't put as much of the cloves as it called for but that was personal preference. I was looking for a recipe that was like what my Gramp used to make. This was almost exactly the same. I baked for 6 to 7 minutes and checked. They were usually done. They were great for dipping in tea!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
amazing! cut beautifully, a definate keeper. It was quite amusing to watch my sister try to figure out the "new" spice I used - she didn't believe me when I told her that its Pepper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rose
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
easy to make and taste good (one important ingredient is cinnamon powder...it enriches the aroma of the cookies) I think it is a bit too sweet, suggest to reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Great recipe! Easy to make and work with. Children of my girl scout troop and husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States