Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
This tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
It's easy enough, and I really liked the flavor, but not quite as smooth as a fondue should be. I suggest substituting Swiss for a cup or two of the cheddar to gove it a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I halved this recipe and found that it needed a bit more milk to have a fondue like texture. I also substituted the garlic cloves for garlic and onion powder, and added two slices of swiss cheese and a splash of beer. I served it with pieces of french bread and we really enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the recipe exactly, but my guests stayed away from this fondue in droves. My fondue forks were instead used for the cocktail meatballs next to the fondue! I will use a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I used cream instead of milk and also added flour to the cheese, it makes it a better texture. tracy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This cheese fondue was wonderful and so seasy to make. Tastes very similar to the cheese fondue I've had a the "Melting Pot" a national chain of fondue restaurants. I'll make this one again for sure. Try it with french bread. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Easy and delicious. We dipped veggies and bread cubes in this. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Boursalian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Before adding the shredded cheese, I highly recommend mixing it with a little flour. This helps the texture a lot. Also, reducing milk base by 1/2 and substituting a white wine or light beer works very nicely to liven this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very good. I used half & half in place of milk, used half cheddar, half mexican blend, added a splash of white wine. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
It was tasted great BUT the cheese didn't melt and became greasy. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States