Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I can't imagine eating this with milk. I used the same amount of beer, which came out to about one and a half bottles of beer. I just used some cheap Michelob Ultra (leftover from our wedding lol), and it tasted perfect. Huge hit at work. Also, I didn't use a saucepan. I just did everything in the fondue pot. No need for that extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very simple and very good! Used the milk only (no beer) and put in a bread bowl! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So simple and so tasty. To make sure the flour didn't lump, I melted a small amount of butter before adding the other ingredients. Also added some buttermilk and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My only complaint with the recipe was that it didn't say why type of cheddar to use. I use sharp or extra sharp and it had a good flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Made this with beer and garlic flavored cheddar. Nobody could stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Good basic recipe, really good with some french bread and veggies! Like everyone said, beer in place of milk gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Now this was great! I just took it inmy head to make cheese fondue one night and pulled this reciped and it was wonderfully easy to make. I took the suggestion and substituted the milk for beer and it came out very good. I served it with some home made bread and we ran out of bread were dipping anything we could into it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I tried with beer as others suggested. I don't think I liked the beer. You could definitely taste it - and I do like to drink beer, just didn't like the taste in the fondue. Will try again without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Basic and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great low-budget recipe!!!! I followed the revision that used 1 bottle of beer (used Firestone Double Barrel Ale), and just used cheap Costco Kirkland brand sharp cheddar and it was very tasty for a inexpensive Valentine's Dinner. Cut french bread cubes, green apple, carrots, celery. Granted, the cheddar tastes much different than using the normal swiss/french cheese recipe, but the flavor from the beer made it suprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States