Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used 1 cup of half & half, and 1 cup of stella artoir beer instead of 2 cups of milk. also, used 1 tbs of flour and 2 tbs of cornstarch to coat the cheese. I first mixed everything in a pot then on the electric fondue. All I needed to do was turn up the heat and add more beer to loosen the cheese up. It was a hit at a baby shower this weekend and for a girls lunch!!! I also added some left over cheese I had...smoked gouda and mozzarella the 2nd time I made it. We dipped, bread, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots, green apple slices and pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I've always been curious to try fondue and this was my first shot. Following other reviewers I used half milk, half beer (all milk would have been bland) and cut the cheese to four cups. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and soy sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce. It was robust and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this exactly like the recipe states, I didn't add the beer like others suggested since I was serving it to my kid. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Used homemade Canadian Pale Ale in place of milk. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! Dipped bread, broccoli, and mushrooms with great results. Perfect fondue! I'd only ever had Gruyere-based fondues that use wine/alcohol. They are tasty, but not everyone likes the flavour left over by the spirits/wine. This alternative was a big hit all round! Made with a really good quality, aged cheddar. I highly recommend trying this recipe the next time you're thinking fondue. I would especially recommend this recipe to first-time fondue-ers. Thank you, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I tried this with 1 c beer and 1 c milk as most suggested. It is pretty good but I still think mine is better. I didn't care for the mustard, and I prefer to use half & half instead of milk, and white wine or sherry instead of beer. Only about 1 cup half & half and 1/3 cup wine or sherry. You can also use skim milk for mine in a pinch. I'm not sure how I feel about the Worcestershire sauce yet. I prefer mine nice and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Musu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Capac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very easy to make. I made this for New Years Eve. Stick to the recipe even though it doesn't look enough. I made the mistake to doubled it but I shouldn't have because there was so much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong, but this did not taste good after being allowed to sit. I followed the recipe except added fat free cream instead of skim milk (which were my only choices). I will try again and use a different type of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was good. Served it at a baby shower. All though it did kind of taste just a little off for me. Oh well, it's prpbably just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patriciasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the ground mustard since I was out of it, and I tossed the shredded cheese with some flour as recommended by another review . It turned out perfectly, and the entire batch fit perfectly into my 2 quart mini crock pot, on "LOW", where it stayed the perfect temp for our dinner. The kids loved dipping all sorts of fun veggies in the yummy fondue, and I loved how fast and easy it was to throw together. Thank you for sharing this gem of a recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States