Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great fondue! It's easy to make. We use this for nachos or just dipping cooked broccoli, carrots, and bread into. It makes a lot and doesn't heat up very well because it separates so we make a batch just big enough for us to eat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe is basic and beautiful. It is also infinitely adjustable to taste using white wine, beer, cream, etc. You can use any mixture of cheeses in place of the cheddar. You can also substitute cornstarch for the flour. Or tapioca starch if you have wheat or corn allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this cheese fondue recipe. I like that it doesn't require alcohol. We eat it with sliced apples, baby carrots and homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Came across this recipe by googling "simple fondue". This was a project for my 14 year old's French Class. I was encouraged by the reviews that stated that it would reheat well and it did! Made the night before, refrigerated and sent it in to school with him. I got 3 text messages from him that said "everyone loves it", then "my class is hovering around it" then "the bread is gone." So, it's a hit with the middle school set. I gave it 3 stars because I believe that either the mustard or the worcestershire sauce was causing the milk to curdle. On the 2nd try, I did not stir in the mustard, worcestershire or garlic until the milk and flour had almost come to a boil. Then I pulled it off the heat and added those ingredients before the cheese. Worked fine that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing the fondue recipe. Most have some form of alcohol and glad to find one that doesn't. Can't wait to try it with me new Velata fondue warmer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
used 1 can of bud light in place of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fondue purists will hate me, but I read this all milk recipe and immediately though - mac n' cheese. It added 1 extra clove of garlic and mixed the fondue into cooked pasta and it was delicious. One thing to note, if you use pre-shredded cheese, you may need to cut back on the flour slightly since it already has a little flour on it to keep it from sticking together. The fondue tasted great, but a little on the thick side. I'll try this again with beer as other suggested, and I'll even use it the way it was intended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this fondue for a girls night - everyone loved it! I used the suggested modification of decreasing the milk and adding beer. I had a lot left over and made it into a yummy breakfast casserole for the next morning. To make the breakfast casserole I melted the left over fondue, added more milk, eggs, and browned sausage, then poured it over sourdough bread cubes (also left over from my party). I refrigerated the casserole over night, then topped with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Tried to make a smaller amount and followed the instructions accordingly. Did not come out right. Was grainy with no cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used 1 cup of half & half, and 1 cup of stella artoir beer instead of 2 cups of milk. also, used 1 tbs of flour and 2 tbs of cornstarch to coat the cheese. I first mixed everything in a pot then on the electric fondue. All I needed to do was turn up the heat and add more beer to loosen the cheese up. It was a hit at a baby shower this weekend and for a girls lunch!!! I also added some left over cheese I had...smoked gouda and mozzarella the 2nd time I made it. We dipped, bread, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots, green apple slices and pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States