Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was good. Served it at a baby shower. All though it did kind of taste just a little off for me. Oh well, it's prpbably just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patriciasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the ground mustard since I was out of it, and I tossed the shredded cheese with some flour as recommended by another review . It turned out perfectly, and the entire batch fit perfectly into my 2 quart mini crock pot, on "LOW", where it stayed the perfect temp for our dinner. The kids loved dipping all sorts of fun veggies in the yummy fondue, and I loved how fast and easy it was to throw together. Thank you for sharing this gem of a recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Switched the milk for a light beer and coated the shredded cheese in flour. We made the fondue in an electric fondue pot following the directions, and served with a baguette, apples, carrots and broccoli! Yummy - will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
For smooth cheese, pre-flour shredded cheese before melting. I works wonderfully. Tip I learned while working for a national fondue resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wonderful! I even used the leftovers on Mac & Cheese and my hubby loved it! He asked me to never make it the old way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I took the advice of the other reviewers and did 1 cup of milk, and 1 cup of beer (We had Sam Adams Oktoberfest on hand.) It was delicious. We dipped french bread, apples, and veggies. We followed the rest of the recipe precisely with the exception of the ground mustard because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Use beer instead of milk! Surprise: We accidently made more than we could eat, and it tastes just as good microwaved the next day after spending the night in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very good. I halved the recipe since it was just for me and my hubby, it was more than plenty. I usually make a white cheese fondue so this was a nice change and easy! Suggestion- if you use flour you are chancing it not being smooth. Sometimes flour clumps or gets gritty. My advice, I got this from all my other fondue recipes and did do it for this one, use cornstarch instead of flour. Use the same amount the same way you use the flour or you may coat the cheese with it and then add it to the liquid. Cornstarch doesn't clump and breaks down better than flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a great basic fondue recipe. Meaning...it's flexible. I've made it several times now, following the basic liquid to flavor suggestions, but improvising and it keeps getting better and better. I replaced all the milk with (dark)beer - it made it especially tart, but yum. Tonight 1/2 milk 1/2 vermouth. Best yet! Also crushed 3 heads of garlic into it, rubbed the fondue dish with garlic, and added a bit of lemon juice to help melt the cheeses smoothly. (Learned that here - Thanks All!) I have used different cheeses. Tonight with the vermouth was cheap store brand swiss and a jalepano montery jack. I have never used 100% cheddar in any of these attempts, sorry i don't have good feedback there. Served over all these times with, bread (old pumpernickel was the best), little turkey meatballs, steamed broccoli, asparagus, and green apples. Worchestire and dry mustard makes it and should be to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
i followed the original recipe and it turned out with a weird texture, i dont know kinda like apple sauce, i probably missed something, im a beginner,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States