Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this fondue for a girls night - everyone loved it! I used the suggested modification of decreasing the milk and adding beer. I had a lot left over and made it into a yummy breakfast casserole for the next morning. To make the breakfast casserole I melted the left over fondue, added more milk, eggs, and browned sausage, then poured it over sourdough bread cubes (also left over from my party). I refrigerated the casserole over night, then topped with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Tried to make a smaller amount and followed the instructions accordingly. Did not come out right. Was grainy with no cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used 1 cup of half & half, and 1 cup of stella artoir beer instead of 2 cups of milk. also, used 1 tbs of flour and 2 tbs of cornstarch to coat the cheese. I first mixed everything in a pot then on the electric fondue. All I needed to do was turn up the heat and add more beer to loosen the cheese up. It was a hit at a baby shower this weekend and for a girls lunch!!! I also added some left over cheese I had...smoked gouda and mozzarella the 2nd time I made it. We dipped, bread, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots, green apple slices and pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I've always been curious to try fondue and this was my first shot. Following other reviewers I used half milk, half beer (all milk would have been bland) and cut the cheese to four cups. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and soy sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce. It was robust and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this exactly like the recipe states, I didn't add the beer like others suggested since I was serving it to my kid. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Used homemade Canadian Pale Ale in place of milk. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! Dipped bread, broccoli, and mushrooms with great results. Perfect fondue! I'd only ever had Gruyere-based fondues that use wine/alcohol. They are tasty, but not everyone likes the flavour left over by the spirits/wine. This alternative was a big hit all round! Made with a really good quality, aged cheddar. I highly recommend trying this recipe the next time you're thinking fondue. I would especially recommend this recipe to first-time fondue-ers. Thank you, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I tried this with 1 c beer and 1 c milk as most suggested. It is pretty good but I still think mine is better. I didn't care for the mustard, and I prefer to use half & half instead of milk, and white wine or sherry instead of beer. Only about 1 cup half & half and 1/3 cup wine or sherry. You can also use skim milk for mine in a pinch. I'm not sure how I feel about the Worcestershire sauce yet. I prefer mine nice and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Musu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Capac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very easy to make. I made this for New Years Eve. Stick to the recipe even though it doesn't look enough. I made the mistake to doubled it but I shouldn't have because there was so much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong, but this did not taste good after being allowed to sit. I followed the recipe except added fat free cream instead of skim milk (which were my only choices). I will try again and use a different type of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States