Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fondue purists will hate me, but I read this all milk recipe and immediately though - mac n' cheese. It added 1 extra clove of garlic and mixed the fondue into cooked pasta and it was delicious. One thing to note, if you use pre-shredded cheese, you may need to cut back on the flour slightly since it already has a little flour on it to keep it from sticking together. The fondue tasted great, but a little on the thick side. I'll try this again with beer as other suggested, and I'll even use it the way it was intended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this fondue for a girls night - everyone loved it! I used the suggested modification of decreasing the milk and adding beer. I had a lot left over and made it into a yummy breakfast casserole for the next morning. To make the breakfast casserole I melted the left over fondue, added more milk, eggs, and browned sausage, then poured it over sourdough bread cubes (also left over from my party). I refrigerated the casserole over night, then topped with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Tried to make a smaller amount and followed the instructions accordingly. Did not come out right. Was grainy with no cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used 1 cup of half & half, and 1 cup of stella artoir beer instead of 2 cups of milk. also, used 1 tbs of flour and 2 tbs of cornstarch to coat the cheese. I first mixed everything in a pot then on the electric fondue. All I needed to do was turn up the heat and add more beer to loosen the cheese up. It was a hit at a baby shower this weekend and for a girls lunch!!! I also added some left over cheese I had...smoked gouda and mozzarella the 2nd time I made it. We dipped, bread, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots, green apple slices and pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I've always been curious to try fondue and this was my first shot. Following other reviewers I used half milk, half beer (all milk would have been bland) and cut the cheese to four cups. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and soy sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce. It was robust and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this exactly like the recipe states, I didn't add the beer like others suggested since I was serving it to my kid. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Used homemade Canadian Pale Ale in place of milk. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! Dipped bread, broccoli, and mushrooms with great results. Perfect fondue! I'd only ever had Gruyere-based fondues that use wine/alcohol. They are tasty, but not everyone likes the flavour left over by the spirits/wine. This alternative was a big hit all round! Made with a really good quality, aged cheddar. I highly recommend trying this recipe the next time you're thinking fondue. I would especially recommend this recipe to first-time fondue-ers. Thank you, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I tried this with 1 c beer and 1 c milk as most suggested. It is pretty good but I still think mine is better. I didn't care for the mustard, and I prefer to use half & half instead of milk, and white wine or sherry instead of beer. Only about 1 cup half & half and 1/3 cup wine or sherry. You can also use skim milk for mine in a pinch. I'm not sure how I feel about the Worcestershire sauce yet. I prefer mine nice and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Musu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Capac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very easy to make. I made this for New Years Eve. Stick to the recipe even though it doesn't look enough. I made the mistake to doubled it but I shouldn't have because there was so much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue PolkaDot
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States