Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
This tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
It's easy enough, and I really liked the flavor, but not quite as smooth as a fondue should be. I suggest substituting Swiss for a cup or two of the cheddar to gove it a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I halved this recipe and found that it needed a bit more milk to have a fondue like texture. I also substituted the garlic cloves for garlic and onion powder, and added two slices of swiss cheese and a splash of beer. I served it with pieces of french bread and we really enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the recipe exactly, but my guests stayed away from this fondue in droves. My fondue forks were instead used for the cocktail meatballs next to the fondue! I will use a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I used cream instead of milk and also added flour to the cheese, it makes it a better texture. tracy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This cheese fondue was wonderful and so seasy to make. Tastes very similar to the cheese fondue I've had a the "Melting Pot" a national chain of fondue restaurants. I'll make this one again for sure. Try it with french bread. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Easy and delicious. We dipped veggies and bread cubes in this. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Boursalian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Before adding the shredded cheese, I highly recommend mixing it with a little flour. This helps the texture a lot. Also, reducing milk base by 1/2 and substituting a white wine or light beer works very nicely to liven this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very good. I used half & half in place of milk, used half cheddar, half mexican blend, added a splash of white wine. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
It was tasted great BUT the cheese didn't melt and became greasy. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States