Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I tried this for Thanksgiving and it went over well, however, I only used 3 cups of cheese, 3/4 cup of milk and 1 cup of beer. I added more worsterchire sauce and mustard for extra zing. I also tossed the cheese with flour prior to melting and it was smooth as can be. We dipped granny snith apples, and pumperniclke bread. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Alright, everyone agrees that it's better with beer. This is the version I've been using: INGREDIENTS 1/4 cup butter 1/4 cup flour 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce 1/4 tsp. dry mustard 1 bottle (12 oz.) beer 3 cups old Canadian Cheddar cheese, shredded 1 Baguette, cubed; each cube with crust INSTRUCTIONS In saucepan, melt butter; blend in flour, Worcestershire sauce and mustard. Gradually stir in beer; stir until mixture comes to a boil. Reduce heat; add cheese, stir until melted. Transfer to fondue pot; place over low heat. Serve with bread cubes. This recipe makes less so you can have it for two, and it tastes better because it uses beer. The older the cheddar the better the results. Add a few drops of lemon juice to help it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
489 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
It was good...I'm still looking for a great fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Feasterville Trevose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This fondue has a really good flavor and it's SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I followed recommedations to substitute beer for milk. Since I did that, I would rate this a 5/5! It was unbelievable! I will definitely make it again, but highly recommend the beer. I took the beer and added enough milk to make 2 cups of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
As written, I thought this was rather bland. I ended up adding a splash of white wine, Gruyere cheese, and ground black pepper. The tip about tossing the grated cheese in flour was really helpful - the texture wasn't grainy at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Yum! tastes just like the melting pot's! i half the recipe so it will all fir in my fondue pot. i also substitute a cup of beer for the milk. I serve it with apples and panera sourdough bread. it is also good with broccoli and carrots. I also usually add 2 small cloves of garlic, but i love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very basic cheddar fondue. Based on other reviews I substitued beer for milk (1 Becks beer, and 1/4 cup milk) and it had a GREAT beer/cheese flavor. It was kinda lumpy...but, my party had already started, and I was rushing, so it may have been my fault for the lumps! I also added a lot more cheese, it seemed to runny (once again, could have been something I did wrong) It wasn't MY favorite, but, it was voted #1 out of 3 of my fondues by several guests at my party. I think it would be really good to dip hot dogs or soft pretzles in too! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is the grossest fondue! I mistakingly made it for a recent dinner party with friends... we all tried it, then I threw it out and made something else. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Cheddar is notorious for being lumpy when melted, but this worked out really well for my family. I added extra garlic, even though I halved the recipe. I think I'll try fontina cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States